Search Results: "Paul Schmid"


BOOK REVIEW

PERFECTLY PERCY by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2013

"Just right for preschoolers, who will giggle at the gently humorous ending and see a bit of themselves in this utterly charming creature. (Picture book. 3-6)"
What is an adorable porcupine to do when his passion is for balloons? Is he destined for disappointment, or will some careful thinking lead to the perfect solution? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETUNIA GOES WILD by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2012

"Simple illustrations convey a simple truth: children love to run wild! (Picture book. 3-7)"
Petunia decides she's more animal than girl (RARH!). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OLIVER AND HIS EGG by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2014

"Still, this young boy's imagination is a powerful force for helping him deal with life, something that should be true for all children but sadly isn't. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Oliver, of first-day-of-school alligator fame, is back, imagining adventures and still struggling to find balance between introversion and extroversion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OLIVER AND HIS ALLIGATOR by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 25, 2013

"On the first day, both the light and the dark sides of kindergartners will go to school, their kissing hands clutching a stuffed alligator, self-confidence soaring. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Going into the darkness beyond Petunia Goes Wild! (2012), Schmid enters the tongue-in-cheek metaphorical alligator/crocodile waters of Candace Fleming (Who Invited You?, illustrated by George Booth, 2001) and Joe Kulka (My Crocodile Does Not Bite, 2013). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY DOG IS THE BEST by Laurie Ann Thompson
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 9, 2015

"This simple, quiet story conveys the enduring bond between child and dog, with the added appeal of a joke that younger children just beginning to understand humor can enjoy. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A toddler plays with the family dog, describing their simple activities and extolling the virtues of the pup. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEANUT AND FIFI HAVE A BALL by Randall de Sève
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2013

"Humorous, realistic and cheerfully free of didacticism. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Playful shapes and deft use of white space illustrate a fresh and funny tale about sharing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DESIGN FLAWS OF THE HUMAN CONDITION by Paul Schmidtberger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 17, 2007

"A story which offers less entertainment than it realizes."
An indulgent tale of two recent acquaintances, one straight, one gay, who help each other deal with their issues. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUGS FROM PEARL by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"Keep quills crossed for a future porcupine tale. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In this welcome departure from the seemingly ubiquitous theme that finds porcupines looking for love, gentle-hearted Pearl experiments with ways to make her hugs more comfortable for others. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WONDER BOOK by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2010

"Even when they are not absolutely necessary to the meaning of the poems, the illustrations, dynamic and expressive, lend a degree of charm and whimsy to a serviceable, often funny, collection. (Poetry. 8-12)"
An uneven collection of poems and witticisms, the very best of which evoke Shel Silverstein. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 1, 1996

"Because we don't get to know the principal subjects well enough, the appeal of this book, though not its historical significance, gets lost in the labyrinth of red tape."
A unique Holocaust biography focused on the bureaucratic nightmares of a family fighting to leave Nazi Germany. Read full book review >