Search Results: "Paul Schneider"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2006

"A you-are-there enterprise in the Steven Ambrose vein, full of surprising turns and not a few ironies."
Talk about a bad trip: Four would-be conquerors wander across some of North America's most difficult country for eight years, and they don't even find gold to make up for their troubles. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OLD MAN RIVER by Paul Schneider
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"A wild ride well worth taking, though readers may want to portage around some of the narrative rapids."
Another chockablock, environmentally focused, ambitious volume from Schneider (Bonnie and Clyde: The Lives Behind the Legend, 2010, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BONNIE AND CLYDE by Paul Schneider
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2009

"A pleasure for true-crime buffs and a better read than Jeff Guinn's Go Down Together (2009)—though Guinn breaks more news."
Fast-paced account of the fast-lived lives of Mr. Barrow and Ms. Parker. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 1997

"For a slice of real estate that doesn't suffer from literary neglect, Schneider's contribution is a welcome, lively, and ranging consideration. (photos, not seen)"
A crisp, filigreed history of the Adirondacks—from their beginnings in Grenville orogeny to last year's trapping harvest- -from Schneider, an editor at Mirabella. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2000

"For the most part, a tight and cruising historical narrative—a rich tale for so small a piece of property. (drawings, photos, maps, not seen)"
A fine, if at times over-focused, portrait of Massachusetts' famed Cape and the islands that surround it, from travel writer and naturalist Schneider (The Adirondacks, 1997). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NO DOGS ALLOWED by Howie Schneider
ANIMALS
Released: June 14, 1995

"Rollicking illustrations will make children giggle, while the plot will keep them in suspense over whether Mercer's secret will be spilled, right up to the frantic happy ending. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A funny vacation tale, perfect for summertime story hours, from the creator of that other traveling dog, Amos: The Story of an Old Dog and His Couch (1987, not reviewed). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SECRET LOVE by Bart Schneider
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 3, 2001

"The milieu is perfectly captured, but the storyline relies heavily on melodrama to propel the action forward. And the often-stagey dialogue is no help. Disappointing, if often engaging."
A rather plodding second effort from Schneider, founding editor of The Hungry Mind Review (now The Ruminator Review), returns to the themes and settings of his debut (Blue Bossa, 1998). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SUMMER OF SLOANE by Erin L. Schneider
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 3, 2016

"Schneider's debut asks readers to consider how and where to draw the line between forgivable and inexcusable transgressions in those we love. (Fiction. 14-17)"
Blindsided by betrayal, wounded in heart and hand, Sloane escapes to Hawaii, where she finds healing, romance, and new complications. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LET ME GO by Helga Schneider
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 2004

"Survivor's tales come in as many shapes as mothers. This one, from the dark side, is as affecting as a kick in the stomach."
Mothers come in all shapes and persuasions: this one enthusiastically joined the Waffen SS, abandoned her children, and embraced her tasks at Auschwitz, as gloomily recounted in her daughter's memoir. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 20, 1998

"A well-edited set of documents that will be uniquely invaluable to students of Beckett's works and of the American theater. (21 line illustrations, not seen)"
The great playwright exchanges letters with his favorite American stage director. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU’LL BE SORRY by Josh Schneider
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 17, 2007

"Though even younger ones will reckon the unlikelihood of ever being in the same (so to speak) boat with Samantha, they may come away at least a little more convinced of the frequent connection between rash acts and unforeseen consequences. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Sandwiched between Schneider's stout denials that the episode is based on personal experiences is a puckish tale of impulsive sibling violence and remorse in a family of Kevin Henkes-like mice. Read full book review >