Search Results: "Paul Stanley"


BOOK REVIEW

FACE THE MUSIC by Paul Stanley
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2014

"An indispensable part of KISStory."
KISS' flamboyant "Starchild" unplugs his high-wattage amps and introduces fans to an even more intriguing character: Stanley Harvey Eisen. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Romosa: The Island of Eternal Youth by Paul Stanley Michaelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 22, 2013

"Some readers might wish for more time on the island, but there'll be no complaints about this breezy, quick read that can be enjoyed in an afternoon."
A woman's plea for help leads two grad students to a remote island that may hold the secret to infinite youth in the author's latest thriller (Murder in the Valley of the Kings, 2013, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Murder in the Valley of the Kings by Paul Stanley Michaelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 21, 2013

"A bold, atmospheric tale of murder set amid the ruins of a mystifying ancient civilization."
A swiftly paced, imaginative Egyptian murder mystery anchored by a randy band of tomb raiders. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOTHIN' TO LOSE by Ken Sharp
Released: Sept. 10, 2013

"A rollicking oral history of the one-time 'hottest band in the land.'"
Through scores of interviews with band members, fans, roadies, rival musicians and label executives, Sharp (Starting Over: The Making of John Lennon and Yoko Ono's Double Fantasy, 2010, etc.) and KISS co-founders Stanley and Simmons have put together a complete history of the band's rise to superstardom. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ELEVATOR MAN by Stanley Trachtenberg
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

Nathan loves riding in his apartment building's old elevator with the kind Elevator Man, who lets him turn a handle to move the car up and down. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Feb. 1, 2009

"An excellent introduction that will lead older children (and adults) to the music. (author's notes, chronology, bibliography) (Picture book/biography. 6-10)"
At three, Mozart heard his older sister play the clavier and copied her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JOAN OF ARC by Diane Stanley
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

From Stanley (Rumpelstiltskin's Daughter, 1997, etc.), a sympathetic biography that is also a straightforward affair, captured in gemlike illustrations that feign a Book of Hours touch—though many are drenched in piety—recounting the story of Joan's life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GEORGE MILLS by Stanley Elkin
Released: Oct. 25, 1982

"So, though this 488-page novel is a leaky collection of parts rather than one whole strong book (Elkin is a short-form writer no matter how he's packaged), connoisseurs of comic fiction will consider it required reading: a brilliant set of flags blowing the irrepressible wind of Elkin's fierce, bold comedy."
George Mills, who lives in St. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DELIVERANCE OF DANCING BEARS by Elizabeth Stanley
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2003

"A postscript by the author explains her passion for this issue and provides information on how to join the activism for saving the dancing bears and other abused animals. (Picture book. 4-8)"
An unusual story based on fact carries a richly satisfying message. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LETTICE, THE DANCING RABBIT by Mandy Stanley
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 1, 2002

"Let us hope so. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Little Lettice is a pale-gray bunny ballerina who wears pink slippers and a hair bow with sparkly glitter on the cover of this sweet (some might say saccharine) story, its charming illustrations in pretty pastels complemented by perky pink-checked endpapers. Read full book review >