Search Results: "Paul Starkey"


BOOK REVIEW

THE SHELL by Mustafa Khalifa
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 22, 2017

"A staggeringly powerful story of inhumanity and one man's unrelenting will to survive."
An innocent Syrian student is sent to a brutal prison. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAR MR. KAWABATA by Rashid al-Daif
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2000

"In other words, whenever (Rashid) al-Daif isn't lecturing Kawabata (and us), he proves himself an impressively gifted novelist."
The civil war between the 1970s and early '90s in Lebanon provides both background and theme for this simultaneously impassioned and discursive story, presented as the delusional monologue of Rashid, a Lebanese revolutionary who is mortally wounded during the war's final days. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 3, 2012

"In general, this is an enjoyable read about coping with bullying, an unfortunately evergreen situation. (Fiction. 9-11)"
This debut focuses on a familiar character in middle-grade lit, the perennially bullied kid—except this time, he's unexpectedly victorious, early in the story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CALL OF THE BULLY by Scott Starkey
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2013

"Standard summer-camp-centric fare: Meatballs with bullies. (Fiction. 11-14)"
Will Camp Wy-Mee get the best of Rodney Rathbone, or can he survive bullies in the wild? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SIX WIVES by David Starkey
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 10, 2003

"A boon to fans of English royal history, full of murder and mayhem, but also of solid analysis of a maddeningly complicated era."
A rich account of the six long-celebrated women who, for better or worse, shared the throne with the ax-happy Tudor king. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELIZABETH by David Starkey
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Dec. 2, 2000

"Reveals a livelier Liz: lovely, clever, wise, and—like all the other Tudors—possessed of the 'besetting sin' of 'rapacity.' (16 pp. color photos and illustrations)"
In brisk, bracing prose, a freelance historian follows England's first Queen Elizabeth from birth to the early days of her reign. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE INHERITANCE by L V Starkey
Released: March 1, 2014

"A quirky debut that ultimately falls flat."
An attempted patricide goes awry in Starkey's debut novel of suspense and family ties. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

PERFECTLY PERCY by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2013

"Just right for preschoolers, who will giggle at the gently humorous ending and see a bit of themselves in this utterly charming creature. (Picture book. 3-6)"
What is an adorable porcupine to do when his passion is for balloons? Is he destined for disappointment, or will some careful thinking lead to the perfect solution? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEDGEHOG'S MAGIC TRICKS by Ruth Paul
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 23, 2013

"A lovely lesson: If at first you don't succeed...then count on your friends to help get it right. (Picture book. 3-5)"
In story and artwork as delicate as milkweed floss, Paul tells the story of young Hedgehog's tribulations as a budding magician. Read full book review >