Search Results: "Paul Stewart"


BOOK REVIEW

THE BIRTHDAY PRESENTS by Paul Stewart
Released: Feb. 29, 2000

"The message, that barriers between friends can be overcome with a little thought, is delivered with warmth and humor in this gentle book's perfectly complementary text and illustrations. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Rabbit and Hedgehog, very dissimilar friends, have found ways to share in the past (A Little Bit of Winter, not reviewed), and they charmingly do so again in their second appearance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IMMORTALS by Paul Stewart
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 14, 2010

Stewart and Riddell cap their Edge Chronicles with a large-scale grand tour and cast reunion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RETURNER'S WEALTH by Paul Stewart
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Red meat for rabid dragon lovers, but younger fans of the authors' Edge Chronicles may be discomfited by the gruesome bits and steamy clinches. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
A young wanderer enters the Wyrmeweald—a mountainous land of sudden death, untold riches, and dragons, dragons, dragons—in this grim trilogy opener. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BARNABY GRIMES by Paul Stewart
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 9, 2008

"From the first gripping sentence onward, Barnaby will be sure to rake in the fans. (Horror. 9-12)"
The latest and best Stewart/Riddell collaboration to date is set in a pseudo-Victorian world of stovepipe hats, gamins and smog. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN THE DARK OF THE NIGHT by Paul Stewart
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 2009

"The slow pace, inconsistent illustrations and obscure concepts combine to make this one to miss. (Picture book. 5-7)"
In a picture-book departure from his usual fantasy novels, Stewart (The Edge Chronicles, etc.) has crafted an uninspiring coming-of-age tale about a wolf cub. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FERGUS CRANE by Paul Stewart
ADVENTURE
Released: May 23, 2006

"Missable. (Fantasy. 10-12)"
The creators of the Edge Chronicles open a new series aimed at a younger audience with this tale of a lad who discovers that his teachers are all pirates. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: June 22, 2004

"Good fun, though the supporting cast tends to overshadow the plot. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Readers fond of nonstop adventures thickly stocked with variously clawed, tentacled, tusked, venomous, tattooed, insidious, blood-drinking, slime-vomiting plug-uglies will be in hog heaven over this imported series opener, trendily bound in a jacketless pictorial cover. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MUDDLE EARTH by Paul Stewart
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 14, 2007

"Steer readers with a taste for spoof quest epics to the likes of Terry Pratchett's Discworld tales, Jodi Lynn Anderson's May Bird in the Ever After (2005) or the granddaddy of them all, the Harvard Lampoon's Bored of the Rings (1969). (Fantasy. 11-13)"
The title, an anemic volcano dubbed "Mount Boom" and a late bit of verse are the only connections to Tolkien in this long, lame farce. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

TOYS by David Stewart
by David Stewart, illustrated by David Stewart
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 3, 2015

"This and the other titles in the Black & White series may well become favorites for tots to chew on until they graduate to Donald Crews' graphically striking classics, such as Truck and Freight Train. (Board book. 3-18 mos.)"
There is much to talk about with baby in this sturdy, wordless, black-and-white board book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEXTER BEXLEY AND THE BIG BLUE BEASTIE ON THE ROAD by Joel Stewart
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

"Readers will be perfectly happy just to be on the ride. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Dexter Bexley and the Big Blue Beastie are at it again in this entertaining sequel to their eponymous debut (2007). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >