Search Results: "Paul Strathern"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"Accessible and impressive in scope."
Historian Strathern (Napoleon in Egypt, 2008, etc.) explores the decisive influence of a ruthless Renaissance prince on both a diplomat and an artist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NAPOLEON IN EGYPT by Paul Strathern
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 21, 2008

"Inserting extracts from diaries and letters, the author does a solid job re-creating Napoleon's 'dream of an Oriental empire' without offering many new insights."
Strathern (James Joyce in 90 Minutes, 2005, etc.) wades into the muddy waters of France's fabled North African campaign in 1798-99. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 15, 2015

"Strathern does not take sides as he delivers a deft, often gruesome account of events in that distant era when Christianity was a matter of life and death."
Boko Haram and the Taliban are uniquely bloodthirsty, but they follow a long tradition of puritan reformers, among them the subject of this book, the Italian Dominican friar Savonarola (1452-1498). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOUCAULT IN 90 MINUTES by Paul Strathern
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 2, 2000

"Readers will come away with enough fascinating vignettes to get them through two or three cocktail parties—which is probably more than most of them will require."
London-based writer Strathern (Berkeley in 90 Minutes, see above) offers a painless tongue-in-cheek introduction to French theorist Michel Foucault. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MEDICI by Paul Strathern
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 15, 2016

"A fantastically comprehensive history covering the breadth of the great learning, art, politics, and religion of the period."
The prolific author continues to do what he does best—bring history to wondrous life—with this thorough history of the Medici family, the stimulus and backbone of the Renaissance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MENDELEYEV’S DREAM by Paul Strathern
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2001

"Crisp, provocative entertainment for armchair scientists, and a solid survey for more serious readers."
A nimble chronological history of the transformation of sorcery and superstition into chemistry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BERKELEY IN 90 MINUTES by Paul Strathern
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 2, 2000

"Presumably intended for college students who can't be bothered to read primary sources, Strathern's quixotic portrait isn't likely to improve their grades—although it will certainly provide a laugh or two."
The very first sentence of this whimsical introduction to Irish philosopher Berkeley (1685-1753) gives away the game: Strathern (Foucault in 90 Minutes, see below) declares that Berkeley's work is "ludicrous" and "gives philosophy a bad name." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE VENETIANS by Paul Strathern
NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 15, 2013

"The great artists, explorers and scientists of the period are well-noted, but La Serenissima is the true subject of this book, and a better inducement to visit would be hard to find."
The story of the spirit of the Most Serene Republic of Venice. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >