Search Results: "Paul Sullivan"


BOOK REVIEW

MAATA’S JOURNAL by Paul Sullivan
FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2003

"Teen readers, however, will eagerly devour her story, with its dramatic shifts in locale and its depiction of a very alien culture and time. (bibliography, author's note) (Fiction. YA)"
Maata, a young Inuit girl tells a powerfully moving tale set in diary form. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE THIN GREEN LINE by Paul Sullivan
NON-FICTION
Released: March 10, 2015

"There's good how-to stuff here, but Sullivan's added value is his gentle insistence that wealth and money aren't synonyms."
Want to get rich? Stay in school and save your money. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAR BABY by Sarah Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"It ends with an overly didactic note (a birthday card with a message inside), but Meisel's mixed-media pictures are cheerful and engaging and the idea makes this a worthwhile addition to the burgeoning shelf on the topic. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Presented in the form of a scrapbook, a series of notes, letters and drawings from an older brother to his new sibling traces her life from a few weeks before her birth (a print of her sonogram) until her first birthday. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I USED TO BE A FISH by Tom Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 11, 2016

"While the book is visually appealing, the plot is very thin and not likely to inspire demands for rereading. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Fed up with the aquatic life, a fish ventures onto land, spawning eons of evolutionary change. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BALL by Mary Sullivan
by Mary Sullivan, illustrated by Mary Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 2, 2013

"Deceptively simple little winner for dog lovers. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The single word "ball" comprises the text of this visual chronicle of a day in the life of a dog and his ball. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON LINDEN SQUARE by Kate Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"Pleasant but inconsequential. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Stella Mae loves to sit at her apartment-house window and watch her neighbors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OZZIE AND THE ART CONTEST by Dana Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2013

"Once the story's lesson is revealed, there is little reason to read this one again. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Ozzie enters the art contest at school only to be disappointed at the results. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRANKIE by Mary Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 4, 2017

"Two-legged pups with new sibs would likely have a similar experience. (Picture book. 4-6)"
A young new dog in the house gets a cold reception from the old one. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOBODY'S DUCK by Mary Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"The final joke may fall a little flat, but there is much to enjoy here as two different personalities (and species) form a new family. (Graphic novel. 4-6)"
Can a duck who belongs to nobody find a somebody? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KAY KAY'S ALPHABET SAFARI by Dana Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2014

"Kids will enjoy the silliness, and there's lots of potential for the classroom. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Themed alphabet books are like the Little Engine that Could—they just keep on comin'. Read full book review >