Search Results: "Paul Terry"


BOOK REVIEW

TOP 10 OF EVERYTHING 2015 by Paul Terry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2014

"For fans of the form, this compendium has plenty of juice. (index) (Reference. 8-14)"
This collection of top 10 goodies—including "Songs About the Body" and "Amazing Cars for Hire"—has plenty to entertain, if not educate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST HERO by Terry Pratchett
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Nov. 1, 2001

"Moderately funny, aimed primarily at Discworld addicts and holiday-season gift-givers."
A new, albeit rather short, Discworld yarn (Thief of Time, 2001, etc.), profusely illustrated by popular Discworld artist Kidby in an oversized format. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CHARLIE’S SUPERHERO UNDERPANTS by Paul Bright
ADVENTURE
Released: May 1, 2010

"A winner—KERZAP! (Picture book. 3-6)"
Without his special undies, what's a young superhero to do? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Very First Christmas Stocking and the Gifts of the Seven Coins by Terry Paul Lafargue
Released: Sept. 23, 2016

"A strange, original Christmas tale that suggests a sweet family tradition within an anachronistic adventure."
When two young angels crash-land their shooting star in a shepherd's meadow on the first Christmas Eve, they begin a journey that may sprout some family rituals in this debut picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WOMBAT & FOX by Terry Denton
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Fans of Dav Pilkey who are ready for something different will chuckle at the wild antics of this jolly band of animal friends. (Fantasy. 6-10)"
This Australian buddy book featuring the titular Wombat and Fox as well as Croc, millionaire Bandicoot, the Hippo Sisters and the naughty, naughty Five Monkeys is sure to please new readers with a wacky sense of humor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RHINO’S HORNS by Michael Terry
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2001

"Extreme close-ups of rhino and baboon, lushly drawn flowers, fruit, and accompanying insects and birds, and the silly arrangements wrapped around the horns help to enhance what is still an age-old theme. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Another take on the hoary conflict of how one who is different and dolorous about it comes to accept the beauty of his own special qualities. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, CUPCAKE! by Terry Border
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 7, 2015

"Preschoolers will be delighted with the visual mayhem, although parents may cringe at the quantity of junk food depicted. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Using similar photographic treatment and subject matter developed in his earlier picture book, Peanut Butter and Cupcake (2014), Border follows the journey of the eponymous heroine in her search for the perfectly themed birthday party. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRAVEYARD SHAKES by Laura  Terry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 10, 2017

"Affirming girl power and the importance of staying true to yourself, this story will resonate with readers who, like Katia, build relationships on their own terms. (Graphic fantasy. 8-12)"
A tale about a ghost who fears other ghosts and two sisters who find more welcome in a graveyard than in school. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SHEPHERD'S CROWN by Terry Pratchett
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"This is the late Pratchett's last book; even not-quite-perfect Pratchett is something to treasure and can proudly take its place in one heck of a literary legacy. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
"Cry ‘Crivens!' and let loose the clan Mac Feegle!" Read full book review >