Search Results: "Paul Tough"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"Well-written and bursting with ideas, this will be essential reading for anyone who cares about childhood in America."
Turning the conventional wisdom about child development on its head, New York Times Magazine editor Tough (Whatever It Takes: Geoffrey Canada's Quest to Change Harlem and America, 2008) argues that non-cognitive skills (persistence, self-control, curiosity, conscientiousness, grit and self-confidence) are the most critical to success in school and life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 10, 2008

"Outstanding literary nonfiction, distinguished by in-depth reporting, compelling writing and deep thinking."
New York Times Magazine editor Tough profiles an ambitious effort to simultaneously address the seemingly eternal societal problems of poverty, class stratification, educational underachievement and racial discrimination. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELPING CHILDREN SUCCEED by Paul Tough
NON-FICTION
Released: May 24, 2016

"Informative and effective methods to help children overcome issues and thrive at home and in school."
Straightforward advice on how to help children overcome adversity at home and in school. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEAD FOR THE EDGE, KEEP WALKING by Kate Tough
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2015

"A touching and comedic look at one woman's journey to create a new life for herself."
A woman confronts health problems and the end of a relationship in this debut novel. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SEE ME DIG by Paul  Meisel
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2013

"New readers will dig this. (Early reader. 5-8)"
In this gem of an early reader, a cast of cavorting canines find more than they expected when they start digging—namely a scary bear, buried treasure, pirate ghosts and heavy construction equipment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MYSTIC HORSE by Paul Goble
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2003

"From an exceptional talent: a sure classic. (Picture book/folktale. 6-11)"
Goble (Storm Maker's Tipi, 2001, etc.) returns with another engaging Native American legend complemented by his glorious illustrations—a mix of authentic and contemporary design. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEE ME RUN by Paul  Meisel
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2011

"Formatted in a larger trim than the usual early reader, this imaginary rumpus is just right for beginners to successfully read and reread. (Early reader. 5-7)"
A dog set free to run and roam in a dog park uncovers an archeological surprise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAUL THURLBY'S ALPHABET by Paul Thurlby
ABC BOOKS
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Skillfully constructed and cleverly composed, it's an awesome alphabet book that adults will also appreciate. (author's note) (Picture book. 5-7)"
Is there any new way left to present the alphabet? The answer is Yes, as this graphic artist demonstrates when he applies his retro style to the ABCs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUGS FROM PEARL by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"Keep quills crossed for a future porcupine tale. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In this welcome departure from the seemingly ubiquitous theme that finds porcupines looking for love, gentle-hearted Pearl experiments with ways to make her hugs more comfortable for others. Read full book review >