Search Results: "Paul Trynka"


BOOK REVIEW

IGGY by Paul Trynka
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 10, 2007

"The author's love for a flawed-but-deep-down-okay dude, plus his amazing eye for detail, make this one of the finest rock bios of recent memory: Music and pop culture fans will dig it even if they don't dig Ig."
Is it possible to adore a rock star who has been known to throw watermelons at concertgoers, defecate onstage behind an amplifier and purposefully cut his bare chest with a shard of glass? You betcha. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAVID BOWIE by Paul Trynka
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 18, 2011

"Bowie nerds will love it, and music nerds will admire it; regular nerds and most others will think it's about 150 pages too long."
Everything you always wanted to know about the Thin White Duke. Everything. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIAN JONES by Paul Trynka
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 9, 2014

"An intimate portrait of the multifaceted and beguiling Jones, who forever changed popular music and culture."
A lively biography of the enigmatic founder of the Rolling Stones, who was dethroned and died just as the band approached its artistic peak. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

A SURPRISE FOR GIRAFFE AND ELEPHANT by Paul Gude
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 17, 2015

"Readers can't help but feel lifted after spending time with these two companions. (Picture book. 3-5)"
The welcome return of odd-couple pals Elephant and Giraffe (When Elephant Met Giraffe, 2014).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELLO WORLD! by Paul Beavis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"A calmly surreal invitation to explore. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Mrs. Mo's Monster (2014), he of the snaggly teeth, spiky blue fur, and lolling pink tongue, is still in the attic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RED PANDA'S CANDY APPLES by Ruth Paul
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2014

"The message appears to be the treats are best when shared, which makes Red Panda's attempt at entrepreneurship all the odder. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Who can resist candy apples? Not Red Panda. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN ELEPHANT MET GIRAFFE by Paul Gude
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 17, 2014

"A humorous picture book about two new, unlikely pals. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Loquacious Elephant meets her match in taciturn Giraffe in this debut picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAUL THURLBY'S WILDLIFE by Paul Thurlby
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 12, 2013

"Wordplay, visual jokes and strong design combine to create another winner for Thurlby—and readers. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Fans of Thurlby's recent distinguished entry on the crowded alphabet-book shelves (Paul Thurlby's Alphabet, 2011) won't be disappointed by this clever follow-up. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CROW by Alison Paul
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 3, 2007

"Younger and more timorous audiences will appreciate the take-it-or-leave-it quality of the suspense. (Picture book. 7-9)"
Riffing on "The Raven" for her debut, Paul demonstrates that she's no Poe (yet, at least) when it comes to verse—but her shadowy, skewed-perspective paper-collage illustrations do create a properly brooding atmosphere. Read full book review >