Search Results: "Paul Trynka"


BOOK REVIEW

IGGY by Paul Trynka
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 10, 2007

"The author's love for a flawed-but-deep-down-okay dude, plus his amazing eye for detail, make this one of the finest rock bios of recent memory: Music and pop culture fans will dig it even if they don't dig Ig."
Is it possible to adore a rock star who has been known to throw watermelons at concertgoers, defecate onstage behind an amplifier and purposefully cut his bare chest with a shard of glass? You betcha. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAVID BOWIE by Paul Trynka
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 18, 2011

"Bowie nerds will love it, and music nerds will admire it; regular nerds and most others will think it's about 150 pages too long."
Everything you always wanted to know about the Thin White Duke. Everything. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIAN JONES by Paul Trynka
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 9, 2014

"An intimate portrait of the multifaceted and beguiling Jones, who forever changed popular music and culture."
A lively biography of the enigmatic founder of the Rolling Stones, who was dethroned and died just as the band approached its artistic peak. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

PERFECTLY PERCY by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2013

"Just right for preschoolers, who will giggle at the gently humorous ending and see a bit of themselves in this utterly charming creature. (Picture book. 3-6)"
What is an adorable porcupine to do when his passion is for balloons? Is he destined for disappointment, or will some careful thinking lead to the perfect solution? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEDGEHOG'S MAGIC TRICKS by Ruth Paul
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 23, 2013

"A lovely lesson: If at first you don't succeed...then count on your friends to help get it right. (Picture book. 3-5)"
In story and artwork as delicate as milkweed floss, Paul tells the story of young Hedgehog's tribulations as a budding magician. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETUNIA GOES WILD by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2012

"Simple illustrations convey a simple truth: children love to run wild! (Picture book. 3-7)"
Petunia decides she's more animal than girl (RARH!). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY IN PERIL! by Paul Collicutt
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2009

"Multiples are not a bad idea. (Graphic fiction. 8-11)"
Curtis is a walking, talking lighthouse-headed robot who protects the coast of Robot City with his trusty human crew, Ali and Steve. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STORM MAKER’S TIPI by Paul Goble
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

Crossing the boundary between the folktale and the informational book, Goble not only tells and illustrates a story based upon a Blackfoot legend, but also provides detailed black-and-white drawings of the construction and pitching of a tipi. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIS BOAT by Paul Collicutt
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 8, 2001

"Ready to sail' indeed. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Bold, bright, and sassy is Collicutt's armada of boats in this picture book for the very young enthusiast. Read full book review >