Search Results: "Paul Tuma"


BOOK REVIEW

FOOTBALL FAUST by Paul Tuma
IPAD BOOK APPS
Released: Aug. 16, 2013

"The fate of the world may hang in the balance, but this app's ho-hum prose makes it hard to feel concerned."
A soccer star becomes a would-be international savior while a disaffected teen endures some drama of his own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT THE DINOSAURS DID LAST NIGHT by Refe Tuma
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 20, 2015

"The authors may well have created a monster with this deliciously chaotic notion. (Picture book. 6-8)"
For anyone who doubts that plastic dinosaurs come to life and sneak out at night to make household messes, here's photographic evidence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT THE DINOSAURS DID AT SCHOOL by Refe Tuma
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 6, 2017

"Better add plastic dinosaurs to the shopping list—kids will want in on the fun. (Picture book. 5-10)"
After demolishing a house with their antics (What the Dinosaurs Did Last Night, 2015), the plastic dinosaur toys stow away in a backpack and wreak havoc on a school. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SPIES INC. by John Keilman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 25, 2010

"Lacking as a total package, but the interactive bits promise hours of undercover fun."
This interactive spy caper entices kids to concoct their own detective missions while helping the main character solve a sweet-tasting mystery. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

WINDS OF DALMATIA by Tanja Tuma
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 22, 2013

"The tumultuous history of the crisis-torn Balkans rendered in a gripping panoramic novel."
This sweeping historical fiction, the first in a projected trilogy, covers 10 centuries in the history of Dalmatia, in the former Yugoslavia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OLIVER AND HIS EGG by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2014

"Still, this young boy's imagination is a powerful force for helping him deal with life, something that should be true for all children but sadly isn't. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Oliver, of first-day-of-school alligator fame, is back, imagining adventures and still struggling to find balance between introversion and extroversion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OLIVER AND HIS ALLIGATOR by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 25, 2013

"On the first day, both the light and the dark sides of kindergartners will go to school, their kissing hands clutching a stuffed alligator, self-confidence soaring. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Going into the darkness beyond Petunia Goes Wild! (2012), Schmid enters the tongue-in-cheek metaphorical alligator/crocodile waters of Candace Fleming (Who Invited You?, illustrated by George Booth, 2001) and Joe Kulka (My Crocodile Does Not Bite, 2013). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WOODS by Paul Hoppe
by Paul Hoppe, illustrated by Paul Hoppe
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2011

"Hoppe's delightfully quirky monsters enhance this pleasant tonic for bedtime fears. (Picture book. 3-6)"
The night light is on and the bedtime story firmly in the young narrator's grasp, but stuffed bunny is nowhere to be found! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUNDAY LOVE by Alison Paul
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2010

"This is a forgettable young cousin of David Macaulay's brilliant postmodern Black and White, without that classic's depth and artistry. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Tipping her hat to the old riddle theme "black and white and red all over," Paul supplies an action-packed story that founders in visual chaos. Read full book review >