Search Results: "Paul Vincent"


BOOK REVIEW

DUKE OF EGYPT by Margriet de Moor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2001

"Once again, de Moor offers an enchantingly original novel. She's getting better with every book."
From the internationally acclaimed Dutch author (First Gray, Then White, Then Blue, p. 979, etc.), a richly imagined, subtly constructed exploration of an unusual fictional subject: Europe's gypsy populations and their adversarial relationships with settled societies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHEESE by Willem Elsschot
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2001

"A 1933 masterpiece, published here for the first time, and one that's enormous fun to read."
"Elsschot" (1882-1960), whose real name was Alfons de Ridder, was the Dutch Italo Svevo: an advertising executive whose rueful comic novels dramatized the plight of the "little man" in a busy world with a rare combination of comedy and pathos. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SONG AND THE TRUTH by Helga Ruebsamen
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 10, 2000

"A virtuosic interweaving of myth, history, and imagination."
We've seen a number of interesting novels from the Netherlands lately, but few have been better than this engrossing saga of a Dutch Jewish family's experiences of personal upheaval in the East Indies and WWII upon returning to Holland. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRST GRAY, THEN WHITE, THEN BLUE by Margriet de Moor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 15, 2001

"A brilliant debut."
This taut first novel (originally published in 1990) by the Dutch author of The Virtuoso is a "Laura"-like mystery about the buried past of Magda Rezkova, a troubled Czech woman presumably murdered by her husband Robert Noort, an industrial executive and frustrated artist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON THE WATER by H.M. van den Brink
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2001

"Readers may be reminded of Alan Sillitoe's 'The Loneliness of the Long-Distance Runner,' perhaps also of John Knowles's A Separate Peace. Still, On the Water is a work of real originality, and a fine introduction to a splendid new novelist."
The metaphor of rowing gathers a rich nexus of meanings in this terse, haunting novel, the first from yet another accomplished writer from the Netherlands. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PROCEDURE by Harry Mulisch
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 1, 2001

"Definitely not hammock reading. This is exhilarating, mind-bending stuff by an author who probes ever deeper into the mysteries that matter most—and keeps getting better."
The riddle of creation, and the innumerable natural and man-made shocks the overweening intellect is (so to speak) heir to, are the dominant concerns in this elusive and fascinating metaphysical fiction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHILE THE GODS WERE SLEEPING by Erwin Mortier
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 10, 2015

"An initially ungainly but ultimately poised consideration of war's long impact on feeling and faith."
An elderly Belgian woman takes a bittersweet look back on her war-torn youth, deliberately (and queasily) blending carnage and romance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SIEGFRIED by Harry Mulisch
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2003

"One of the world's great writers continues his steady march toward a Nobel Prize."
An "explanation" for the evil committed by Adolf Hitler is the quarry of this searching, somewhat discursive new (2001) novel from the internationally acclaimed Dutch author. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M SICK OF IT! by Vincent Bourgeau
ANIMALS
Released: May 19, 1997

"A charming identity crisis, gratifyingly played out; another temporary malcontent can be found in I'm Sick of It: A Fishy Melodrama (0-8431-7925-2). (Board book. 4-6)"
An artful board-book parable. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY SOUL TO TAKE by Rachel Vincent
Released: Aug. 1, 2009

"Twilight fans will love it; more discerning readers will think it ridiculous, but what do they know? (Supernatural romance. YA)"
Harlequin Teen's debut series, Soul Screamers, starts off with a bang. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

100 HOURS by Rachel Vincent
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 28, 2017

"A paint-by-numbers thriller and superfluous romantic complications create high stakes without any real emotional engagement. (Thriller. 14-18)"
Two Latina cousins are trapped in a web of violence that exposes hard truths about their family. Read full book review >