Search Results: "Paul Williams"


BOOK REVIEW

THE GENERAL by Paul Williams
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 28, 2003

"Fascinating and colorful."
Veteran Irish crime journalist Williams exhaustively documents the amazing 20-year career of arch-burglar Martin Cahill. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 15, 2017

"Unquestionably uneven, but if only 10 percent of the author's claims are true, his report is still quite damning."
A scathing examination of the Roman Catholic Church. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TALES FROM SHAKESPEARE by Marcia Williams
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 1998

"For readers familiar with the plays, the synopses are amusing and the watercolor depictions impressive; for those using this work as an entry to Shakespeare's works, welcome. (Picture book. 8-11)"
Seven plays—Romeo and Juliet, MacBeth, The Tempest, The Winter's Tale, A Midsummer Night's Dream, Julius Caesar, and Hamlet—have been condensed into the comic-strip panels of Williams's other retellings (The Iliad and the Odyssey, 1996, etc.); Shakespeare's words are spouted by the performers, summaries of the plot appear beneath the frames, and Elizabethan-era playgoers heckle and comment from the sides and bottom of every page—e.g., "Go on! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHARLES DICKENS AND FRIENDS by Marcia Williams
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"Pair this with Diane Stanley's Charles Dickens: The Man Who Had Great Expectations (1993) to lay far, far better groundwork for a later appreciation of some timeless classics than filmed versions, or more conventional abridgements, ever could. (Picture book. 8-10)"
With small, teeming cartoon scenes so boisterous that they frequently burst their borders, Williams (Bravo, Mr. William Shakespeare!, 2000, etc.) catapults readers headlong through five of Dickens's best-known melodramas, introducing an array of curly-haired naifs, roundly vivacious young women, and pasty-faced villains, as well as those distinctively colorful supporting casts of orphans, convicts, ne'er-do-wells, widows, pickpockets, ghosts, and more—all of whom speak in snatches of Dickens's own dialogue. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIZZY BENNET'S DIARY by Marcia Williams
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 22, 2014

"Whether there's a readership for this is open to question, but it is certainly done well. Miss Austen would probably be pleased. (Dear Reader note) (Fiction/pastiche. 8-12)"
Young readers not quite ready to tackle Pride and Prejudice directly but who are yet intrigued by it might enjoy this loving tribute by the indefatigable Williams. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ROMANS by Marcia Williams
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 10, 2013

"Not a very detailed picture, but broad enough to leave younger readers with a general sense of how grand the grandeur was. (Informational picture book. 8-10)"
In cartoon panels, the inimitable Williams offers snapshots of ancient Rome from the mythological creation of the universe to the fall of the empire. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 1, 2007

"The idiom, setting and details may be British, but young Americans will have no trouble drawing parallels between WWI and the present situation. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Williams departs from her familiar comic-strip style to present this lad's-eye view of the First World War, filling oversize spreads with collages of period post cards, taped-on bric-a-brac, newspaper clippings, foldout letters from the front and cartoons drawn in colored pencil. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIDDLE-SCHOOL COOL by Maiya Williams
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"Middle schoolers will clamor for a transfer. (Fantasy. 10-12)"
Graduates of Wayside School will fit right in at the decidedly unconventional Kaboom Academy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUNNY AND BEE PLAYTIME by Sam  Williams
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"The offering would have been better served in a larger picture-book edition with more pages to allow the delightful illustrations and the simple story room to breathe. (Board book. 2-4)"
Two toddlers, one costumed as a bunny and another like a bee, are the best of friends. Read full book review >