Search Results: "Paula McLain"


BOOK REVIEW

THE PARIS WIFE by Paula McLain
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 8, 2011

"A pleasure to read—and a pleasure to see Hadley Richardson presented in a sympathetic light."
An imaginative, elegantly written look inside the marriage of Ernest Hemingway and Hadley Richardson. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CIRCLING THE SUN by Paula McLain
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 28, 2015

"Ernest Hemingway, who met Markham on safari two years before her Atlantic crossing, tagged her as 'a high-grade bitch' but proclaimed her 1942 memoir West with the Night 'bloody wonderful.' Readers might even say the same of McLain's sparkling prose and sympathetic reimagining."
A full-throttle dive into the psyche and romantic attachments of Beryl Markham—whose 1936 solo flight across the Atlantic in a two-seater prop plane (carrying emergency fuel in the extra seat) transfixed the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A TICKET TO RIDE by Paula McLain
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 8, 2008

"Strange brew."
In this first novel from memoirist and poet McLain (Like Family: Growing Up in Other People's Houses, 2003, etc.), a naïve Midwestern teen gets a visit from her sly, sexy cousin, and trouble ensues. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIKE FAMILY by Paula McLain
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 18, 2003

"Not a foster-care horror story exactly, but a thoughtful recalling of the emotional toll a life of uncertainty can take."
An unsentimental and thus telling memoir by the middle of three sisters who grew up in a series of foster homes in Fresno, California. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A FEW GREAT READS FOR MOTHER’S DAY
by Bobbi Dumas

I rediscovered my love for romance novels after I had my first son. After a few years of post-college literary reading, I needed a respite. I’m a huge fan of Ernest Hemingway and F. Scott Fitzgerald, and have read nearly everything they wrote; their writing leaves me breathless. But their subject matter? Not so much.

Like many new mothers, I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 1, 1999

"If going to the beach this August and being out of touch with our information overload makes you feel like a fish out water, then this is the book to take along."
A fun, fact-filled snack for the terminally informed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SCARY MARY by Paula Bowles
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"The glib ending notwithstanding, Mary's humorous tactics make her one of the more appealing barnyard brats around. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Animals fly the coop when Scary Mary ruffles her feathers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LINE by Paula Bossio
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"Though the art has its charms, the story, wordless as it is, unsettles. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A wordless tale with a trick ending. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LILY WOOL by Paula Vásquez
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 18, 2017

"Delightful. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Don't judge a sheep by its cover. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ETERNAL CITY by Paula Morris
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 26, 2015

"A passable supernatural adventure for the summer break. (Paranormal suspense. 12-18)"
Teens visiting Rome become embroiled in a battle between ancient gods. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN THE NAME OF GOD by Paula Jolin
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 2007

"Nadia's story reminds us that some truths are best expressed by fiction. (Fiction. YA)"
In the cramped Damascus apartment 17-year-old Nadia shares with her family, life is tough and getting tougher. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEALTH
Released: Nov. 1, 1998

An earnest addition to the Straight Talk series tackles the explosive issue of teen pregnancy. Read full book review >