Search Results: "Paula Morris"


BOOK REVIEW

THE ETERNAL CITY by Paula Morris
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 26, 2015

"A passable supernatural adventure for the summer break. (Paranormal suspense. 12-18)"
Teens visiting Rome become embroiled in a battle between ancient gods. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNBROKEN by Paula Morris
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 1, 2013

"A solid and satisfying paranormal mystery, this offering will please existing fans and may win over some new ones to boot. (postscript) (Paranormal thriller. 12 & up)"
In this second installment of the Ruined series, New Yorker Rebecca Brown heads back to New Orleans, where new mysteries—and new ghosts—await. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A FEW GREAT READS FOR MOTHER’S DAY
by Bobbi Dumas

I rediscovered my love for romance novels after I had my first son. After a few years of post-college literary reading, I needed a respite. I’m a huge fan of Ernest Hemingway and F. Scott Fitzgerald, and have read nearly everything they wrote; their writing leaves me breathless. But their subject matter? Not so much.

Like many new mothers, I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

MOON JUMP by Paula Brown
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 1, 1993

"Jersey,'' they shouldn't all look like Guernseys)—but the idea is unusual, and the brightly colored, nicely designed illustrations have a merry verve. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Bearing a pole and a pack, Miss Heiferton arrives in time to draw then tenth and last turn for the moon-jumping contest. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SCARY MARY by Paula Bowles
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"The glib ending notwithstanding, Mary's humorous tactics make her one of the more appealing barnyard brats around. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Animals fly the coop when Scary Mary ruffles her feathers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NUTS by Paula Gerritsen
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2006

"Aesop's grasshopper should have been so lucky. (Picture book. 6-8)"
In this triumphant, if unlikely, take on Matthew 6:26 ("They sow not, neither do they reap . . . yet your heavenly father feedeth them"), a mouse sets out to "reap" nuts from a distant tree, oblivious to warnings of a storm, a tractor and a dog in the way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOT WHAT IT SEEMS by Paula Vásquez
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 21, 2017

"Ultimately the book's concept is too thin and unlikely to sustain interest beyond one reading. (Picture book. 2-4)"
As the title indicates, nothing is what it seems in this Chilean import. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN I GROW UP by Paula Vásquez
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 21, 2017

"Love makes a family, but this may not be the best book to demonstrate this truism. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A duckling wants to be just like his porcine parents when he grows up. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM CAT by Jackie Morris
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2013

"Slight but exquisite, this lovely hybrid will supplement more comprehensive approaches to the topic. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Striking illustrations and lyrical descriptions will please fans of big cats, but this combination of pictures, fiction and facts may not have quite enough substance to inspire repeat readings or engage general readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ICE BEAR by Jackie Morris
ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2011

"Visually stunning, the tale succeeds best as a fanciful, wistful cuddle-up bedtime story. (Picture book. 5-8)"
In a mythical time, animals and humans live harmoniously. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BAREFOOT BOOK OF CLASSIC POEMS by Jackie Morris
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"An ideal collection to give or to share. (indexes) (Poetry. 10-12, adult)"
Stately figures and scenes in luminous colors provide rich backdrops for 74 English poems selected as much for their sonorous language as for their familiarity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE CHEETAH, ONE CHERRY by Jackie Morris
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2016

"The aesthetic pleasures are very strong, but one-on-one adult guidance will be necessary to help young mathematicians make sense of these complex images. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Exquisite watercolor-and-gold-leaf paintings of animals and objects that look as if they tumbled out of medieval illuminated manuscripts distinguish this counting book. Read full book review >