Search Results: "Pearl Cleage"


BOOK REVIEW

BABY BROTHER’S BLUES by Pearl Cleage
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2006

"An unconvincing mishmash of violence, spiritual uplift and Hallmark romance."
Cleage returns to the idealized African-American world of Some Things I Never Thought I'd Do (2003), this time combining romance with a noirish criminal melodrama. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEEN IT ALL AND DONE THE REST by Pearl Cleage
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 18, 2008

"Good intentions, good politics and a spirited heroine can't salvage the paint-by-numbers plot."
Predictable tale of a woman going back home and helping her struggling community. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST WANNA TESTIFY by Pearl Cleage
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 10, 2011

"Vampy romp best appreciated by existing fans of the West End series."
Five sexy vampires show up in Atlanta, causing considerable consternation for local godfather Blue Hamilton and his wife Regina. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOME THINGS I NEVER THOUGHT I’D DO by Pearl Cleage
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"Lively, fluid, disappointingly shallow."
From Oprah author Cleage (What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day . . . , 1997, etc.), a romance steeped in black feminism with a dollop of spiritual mysticism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TILL YOU HEAR FROM ME by Pearl Cleage
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 20, 2010

"Refusing to challenge her characters, Cleage (Seen It All and Done the Rest, 2008, etc.) undermines an exciting premise."
A charismatic minister's apostasy threatens his daughter's political ambitions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THINGS I SHOULD HAVE TOLD MY DAUGHTER by Pearl Cleage
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2014

"A warts-and-all self-portrait rendered in juicy, robust prose."
Cleage (Just Wanna Testify, 2011, etc.) reprints journal entries chronicling her tumultuous life in the 1970s and '80s. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABYLON SISTERS by Pearl Cleage
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2005

"Witty and glib, with a cliffhanger ending that seems contrived."
Cleage (Some Things I Never Thought I'd Do, 2003, etc.) returns to Atlanta's West End in this comedy-tinged thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 2, 1993

"A few pieces are disappointingly slight, and two or three may resemble manifestos more than polished essays, but, as a whole, a fresh, gripping, and sane collection."
From Atlanta Tribune columnist Cleage, essays that treat sex and politics from an African-American feminist perspective and that are—with minor exceptions—powerful, outspoken, and fluent. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I WISH I HAD A RED DRESS by Pearl Cleage
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 3, 2001

"More a bully pulpit than a novel."
An Oprah Book Club author (also see Mitchard, below) returns with a relentlessly on-message companion novel to What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day (1997), this one featuring Ava's older sister Joyce, a strong woman who finally finds a man who's good enough. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT LOOKS LIKE CRAZY ON AN ORDINARY DAY by Pearl Cleage
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 1997

"Cleage is on your tail."
It takes talent to make a love story between an AIDS victim and a convicted murderer work, but playwright/essayist Cleage (Deals with the Devil, 1993, etc.) more than meets the challenge in this gutsy, very likable fiction debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBYRINTH by Pearl North
FANTASY
Released: July 1, 2009

"A bibliographic 'Guide to Quotations' nicely wraps up this book-lover's delight. (Science fiction. 12-15)"
This complex novel depicts the final conflict between major subcultures of an Earth colony long divorced from its origins. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOY FROM ILYSIES by Pearl North
FANTASY
Released: Nov. 1, 2010

"Background information is skillfully integrated into the plot in this clever, thought-provoking book that has appeal for fans of serious science fiction and fantasy. (Science fiction. 13-15)"
Taking up where Libyrinth (2009) left off, the spotlight of this sequel falls on Po and his difficulty adapting to the new culture rising from the life-changing Redemption. Read full book review >