Search Results: "Pearl S. Buck"


BOOK REVIEW

THE GOOD EARTH by Pearl S. Buck
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 4, 2017

"A finely rendered showcase for a classic tale."
Illustrator Bertozzi (Becoming Andy Warhol, 2016, etc.) adapts Buck's (The Eternal Wonder, 2013, etc.) Pulitzer Prize­­-winning novel of a man's fluctuating fortunes and existential crises in early-20th-century China. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ETERNAL WONDER by Pearl S. Buck
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 22, 2013

"Buck scholars only need apply."
A newly unearthed novel by the Nobel Prize-winning author of The Good Earth, following the rocketlike rise of a literary prodigy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHRISTMAS DAY IN THE MORNING by Pearl S. Buck
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"Buck's sentimental but touching story memorably illustrates the value of a gift created with love, a gift like Buehner's. (illustrator's note) (Picture book. 6-9)"
This longer story by Nobel Laureate Buck, originally published in 1955, is presented for the first time as an illustrated work for children. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

6 BOOKS FOR EARLY 2017
by Ana Grilo

Who’s excited that 2016 is coming to an end soon? I know I am, and I already started wish-listing all the awesome-looking 2017 releases and preparing my challenges and goals for 2017. One of them is to continue my Time Travel Project (in which I read as many books featuring time travel as I can, old and new) and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE OREGON TRAIL by Rinker Buck
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 30, 2015

"By turns frankly hilarious, historically elucidating, emotionally touching, and deeply informative."
A crazy whim of a trip on a covered wagon turns into an inspired exploration of American identity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 25, 2012

"A readable, witty exercise in modernist urban erotica."
A police raid on the office of a San Francisco dentist sets in motion an erotic novel that offers plenty of laughing gas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I WISH I HAD A RED DRESS by Pearl Cleage
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 3, 2001

"More a bully pulpit than a novel."
An Oprah Book Club author (also see Mitchard, below) returns with a relentlessly on-message companion novel to What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day (1997), this one featuring Ava's older sister Joyce, a strong woman who finally finds a man who's good enough. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THINGS I SHOULD HAVE TOLD MY DAUGHTER by Pearl Cleage
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2014

"A warts-and-all self-portrait rendered in juicy, robust prose."
Cleage (Just Wanna Testify, 2011, etc.) reprints journal entries chronicling her tumultuous life in the 1970s and '80s. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT LOOKS LIKE CRAZY ON AN ORDINARY DAY by Pearl Cleage
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 1997

"Cleage is on your tail."
It takes talent to make a love story between an AIDS victim and a convicted murderer work, but playwright/essayist Cleage (Deals with the Devil, 1993, etc.) more than meets the challenge in this gutsy, very likable fiction debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GIVING UP AMERICA by Pearl Abraham
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"A disappointment whose structural woes have the feel of an unfinished draft."
Can Abraham, whose first novel (The Romance Reader, 1995) was a sleeper hit of considerable merit, avoid the sophomore jinx with her second? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST BOOKANEER by Matthew Pearl
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 28, 2015

"Pearl is a smooth writer whose adoption of the ambling pace, digressions, and melodrama of an earlier literary era may not suit today's instant gratifiers, but he offers many of the charms and unrushed distractions of a favorite old bookstore."
An entertaining adventure tale steeped in literary history tells of rival book pirates seeking their biggest prize, the last novel of Robert Louis Stevenson (1850-94). Read full book review >