Search Results: "Pedro Lemebel"


BOOK REVIEW

MY TENDER MATADOR by Pedro Lemebel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2004

"A sharp account, suspenseful and nicely paced, that benefits from the unusual perspectives of innocent bystanders in this dirty game."
An odd-couple romance, in the tradition of Kiss of the Spider Woman or The Crying Game, between a Marxist revolutionary and drag queen. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

They Call Me Jake by Pedro Abreu
FICTION & LITERATURE

"An unfocused seafaring tale."
A young sailor tells a meandering tale of his voyages around the world in this debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"With wit, vision, and scholarship, Domingos describes how these scientists are creating programs that allow a computer to teach itself. Readers unfamiliar with logic and computer theory will have a difficult time, but those who persist will discover fascinating insights."
Traditionally, the only way to make a computer execute a task is to write precise instructions: an algorithm. As the author notes in this enthusiastic but not dumbed-down introduction to machine learning, it is impossible to "write a program to tell a computer how to drive a car or decipher handwriting, but if we give enough examples to a computer running a learning algorithm, it will figure out how to do it on its own." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEFIDDLED by Pedro de Alcantara
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 8, 2005

"For serious musicians who will concentrate on Becky's training and forget the rest. (Fiction. 10-13)"
Becky Cohen is a skilled violinist but struck by fear every time she has to perform at her weekly YMCA group lessons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ELEPHANT KEEPER by Margriet Ruurs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"A moving and unforgettable true story of one worthwhile effort to counter humans' negative impact on wildlife. (Informational picture book. 5-9)"
This picture book offers a fresh perspective on Earth's largest land mammals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Monster Fart Wars III: FartMONSTER FART WARS III: FARTS VS. PIMPLES s vs. Pimples by A.M. Shah
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 6, 2017

"For gross-out fans only, but they'll find it funny and full of action."
Once again, the brave mayor of Fartville defends his citizens from would-be invaders in Shah's (Adult Coloring Book Horror Land: Entrapment, 2017, etc.) middle-grade series installment.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 20, 2005

"Powerful ammunition for those who wish to reform or abolish the UN."
A veteran U.S. government official blasts the UN Secretariat for . . . well, see the subtitle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE INSATIABLE SPIDER MAN by Pedro Juan Gutierrez
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 27, 2006

"Pungent and pitiful."
Tales of Havana, from a native son. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WICKED WEEDS by Pedro  Cabiya
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 25, 2016

"A twisty, disorderly, but culturally resonant tale of zombie woe. Sleep tight, kids."
A fastidious and successful Caribbean zombie navigates the uncertain pathways of the human heart in this cerebral take on the undead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRIGID TALES by Pedro de Jesús
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2002

"Witty and accomplished—but thinly developed."
Sex is a preoccupation and, as the King of Siam would say, "a puzzlement" in this debut collection of six coy, elusive stories from a young Cuban fiction writer and translator. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIGRANT by José Manuel Mateo
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2014

"Breathtaking. (author and illustrator notes) (Picture book. 6-12)"
A family's arduous journey from a farm in Mexico to a crowded dwelling in Los Angeles unfolds, literally, as a ribbon is untied and accordion-style pages open to reveal one continuous, aesthetically astonishing scene. Read full book review >