Search Results: "Peggy Drexler"


BOOK REVIEW

PEGGY by Anna Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 4, 2014

"Here's hoping that Peggy has many more big adventures. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A charmer of a chicken has a big adventure in this import from Australia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 10, 2011

"A helpful guide to father-daughter relationships, in which the author indicates that a woman must come to terms with her father in order to empower herself."
Drexler (Psychology/Cornell Univ.; Raising Boys Without Men, 2005) sheds new light on the relationship between fathers and daughters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEGGY GUGGENHEIM by Francine Prose
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 29, 2015

"An adroit and lively portrait."
The latest in the Jewish Lives series focuses on a flamboyant champion of modern art. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 21, 2012

"Ultimately, readers come away with not only a sense of how King Peggy was able to transform Otuam, but also an understanding of how the town and its inhabitants transformed her."
Bartels was working as a secretary in the Ghanaian Embassy when she received a phone call that would change her life. The king of Otuam, a small coastal town of 7,000 people, had passed away, and the tribal elders had elected her as his replacement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MISS PEGGY LEE by Peggy Lee
Released: March 1, 1989

Seductive and gripping life of the jazz-influenced band vocalist-recording-star-cafÇ singer-composer-actress—and a necessary corrective to Miss Lee's rather strange, mannikin-like appearance on recent TV outings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 1996

"Hollywood memoirs just don't get any better than this. (32 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
Two thumbs up for this engrossing, sometimes shocking, memoir of life as a child actor during the silent-movie era. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ART DOES (NOT!) EXIST by Rosalyn Drexler
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 1996

"Roaming the general Kathy Acker neighborhood, this protypically overhip novel will try the patience of even the most ardent enemy of conventional, patriarchal storytelling."
There must be a reason why stridently feminist fiction falls into two camps: realist novels-of-manners that owe their inspiration to Jane Austen and the tradition she belongs to; and bohemian experimental train wrecks like Drexler's latest. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 7, 2013

"A crackerjack piece of science and technology writing."
A stimulating tour through current thinking about and future possibilities for nanotechnology, from one of its creators. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"Fans of Rathmann's Good Night, Gorilla (1994) will like this one, too. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The unexpected theme of this picture book featuring a policeman and his dog is jealousy over attention; it has definite child appeal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT, GORILLA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: April 13, 1994

"Delightful. (Picture book. 3-7)"
As the sleepy keeper bids him good night, Gorilla snitches his keys; then he creeps after him, letting the other animals out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

10 MINUTES TILL BEDTIME by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"The colors are clear and cheerful; the boy, with his saucer eyes and fuzzy slippers, will enchant any child who has listened to a similar countdown to lights out. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Rathmann (Officer Buckle and Gloria, 1995, etc.) offers a loony look at the shank of one child's evening in this manic picture book. Read full book review >