Search Results: "Peggy Hesketh"


BOOK REVIEW

TELLING THE BEES by Peggy Hesketh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 7, 2013

"An intermittently arcane but undeniably original debut."
Friendship between two beekeepers leads to tragedy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"Fans of Rathmann's Good Night, Gorilla (1994) will like this one, too. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The unexpected theme of this picture book featuring a policeman and his dog is jealousy over attention; it has definite child appeal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

10 MINUTES TILL BEDTIME by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"The colors are clear and cheerful; the boy, with his saucer eyes and fuzzy slippers, will enchant any child who has listened to a similar countdown to lights out. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Rathmann (Officer Buckle and Gloria, 1995, etc.) offers a loony look at the shank of one child's evening in this manic picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RUBY THE COPYCAT by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 1991

At first, when new-girl Ruby imitates Angela, Angela takes it in good part: they must be kindred spirits. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT, GORILLA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: April 13, 1994

"Delightful. (Picture book. 3-7)"
As the sleepy keeper bids him good night, Gorilla snitches his keys; then he creeps after him, letting the other animals out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BETRAYED BY NATURE by Robin Hesketh
NON-FICTION
Released: May 8, 2012

"Despite the author's occasionally breezy style—'cancer is jolly complicated'—this is not a book to breeze through, but rather a solid account of how cancer works, how it has been combated and what the future holds for its treatment."
Informative, optimistic tour of the science of cancer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 22, 1991

"A charming, handsome book. (Nonfiction. 8+)"
A fine introduction to 75 simple and not-so-simple Chinese characters: their derivation, their Mandarin pronunciation, and how to write them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHRIST'S WALK WITH ME by Peggy Kennedy
Released: Jan. 4, 2008

"A pleasant, if uninspired, collection for the already converted."
Christian poetry that avoids blunders, but never distinguishes itself. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 10, 2011

"A helpful guide to father-daughter relationships, in which the author indicates that a woman must come to terms with her father in order to empower herself."
Drexler (Psychology/Cornell Univ.; Raising Boys Without Men, 2005) sheds new light on the relationship between fathers and daughters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELVIS AND THE TROPICAL DOUBLE TROUBLE by Peggy Webb
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"The fourth in Webb's wildly over-the-top series (Elvis and the Memphis Mambo Murders, 2010, etc.) will leave some Elvis fans tickled, others offended. Those outside the magic circle of the King's admirers are likely to be mildly amused."
A beauty shop owner and a Basset Hound with an unusual pedigree take on criminals in Mexico. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Test by Peggy Kern
Released: Dec. 15, 2010

"An engaging combination of romance and drama that credibly conveys an important social message for teens while providing adults with insight into the social and emotional pressures facing today's youth."
In this new entry of the Bluford Series, a collection of novels for teens in fifth to 10th grade, Liselle Mason narrates a personal account of teen pregnancy and its impact on the inner-city students of fictional Bluford High School. Read full book review >