Search Results: "Peggy Leon"


BOOK REVIEW

Grace and Baby by Peggy Leon
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 9, 2014

"Quiet, lyrical and probing—a jewel of a novel."
Leon's (A Theory of All Things, 2010, etc.) evocative novel centers on two aging sisters, one mentally challenged and the other her caretaker, whose home is unexpectedly joined by two more family members. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOTHER COUNTRY by Peggy Leon
GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMIC BOOKS
Released: Dec. 1, 2003

"Pleasantly quirky first novel: its appealing lack of gravitas makes it far easier to take seriously than your standard (angst-ridden) coming-of-ager."
Young orphan comes of age (with remarkable aplomb and lightheartedness) in 1950 Nevada. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A THEORY OF ALL THINGS by Peggy Leon
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 2010

"Quirky, funny and eminently readable."
Five wildly creative siblings are drawn back into each other's orbit during a crisis. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES OF 2016 - PART FOUR
by Leila Roy

Here I am, at the end of the year… with the end of my reading year. If you’d like to catch up on the first three installments, here are the links: January-March, April-June, July-September.

And now, on with the show!

October: Wrecked, by Maria Padian

I have read a lot—A LOT—of books that deal with sexual assault and rape culture ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DAY THE BABIES CRAWLED AWAY by Peggy Rathmann
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"At least as inventive and captivating as 10 Minutes Till Bedtime, this is bound to be a similar hit with children. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Caldecott Medalist Rathmann scores again with this rhymed tale of a child's struggles to chaperone a wayward flock of errant babies, illustrated in vivacious, finely-cut silhouettes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"Fans of Rathmann's Good Night, Gorilla (1994) will like this one, too. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The unexpected theme of this picture book featuring a policeman and his dog is jealousy over attention; it has definite child appeal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SKY JUMPERS by Peggy Eddleman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"Another post-apocalyptic copycat. (map) (Post-apocalyptic adventure. 9-13)"
Following the devastation of World War III, a community struggles to survive. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 1, 1993

"B&w photos, engravings, etc.—very dark; bibliography (a dozen books, undifferentiated between sources and books for young readers); notes; index. (Nonfiction. 11+)"
At 22, Verne was so poor that his dinner often consisted of prunes; by the time he was 50, he was rich and widely lauded. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOGS by Peggy Roalf
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 29, 1993

In her Looking at Paintings series, Roalf discusses a worldwide sampling of 19 paintings of dogs, from the 12th century to the 20th. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JOHN PAUL THE GREAT by Peggy Noonan
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 22, 2005

"A fan's notes, mainly of interest to the right-listing faithful."
Reverential study of the late pontiff by Reagan hagiographer (and Hillary scourge) Noonan, blending solid theology with a few pages from Tiger Beat ("His face was—oh, his face!"). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELVIS AND THE MEMPHIS MAMBO MURDERS by Peggy Webb
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"Every inch as gruelingly cute as Elvis and the Grateful Dead (2009). It's enough to make the most diehard Elvis fans switch to Barry Manilow."
An anthropomorphic reincarnation of Elvis sidelines a murderer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW


"A sweetly told saga bubbling with appealing characters and food-related talk."
A poor country girl and a fashionable city woman learn about life in a tasty novel that blends romance and recipes. Read full book review >