Search Results: "Peggy Lipton"


BOOK REVIEW

BREATHING OUT by Peggy Lipton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 9, 2005

"People who love star autobiographies will no doubt find this satisfying, though younger readers, who've never heard of Mod Squad, are unlikely to pick it up."
Predictable memory-tripping by the erstwhile star of Mod Squad. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INSIDE INSIDE by James Lipton
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"A worthy—perhaps even enviable—life related with passion, certitude and considerable artistry."
The creator and host of Inside the Actors Studio summarizes his multifaceted career (writer, actor, dancer, academic dean—and more) and rehearses his favorite moments from his award-winning TV show. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 4, 1993

"Olympia deserves better and, fortunately, she received it in Otto Friedrich's Olympia (p. 30), which captured her dignity and stature as an icon of her age."
In this confusing and self-serving study, Lipton (formerly, Art History/SUNY-Binghamton; Looking into Degas, 1986—not reviewed) claims to find in Victorine Meurent (Manet's favorite model, known as ``Olympia''): herself; a mother-figure; and a surrogate victim of the patriarchal community of artists and art historians. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DISTANT HEARTBEAT by Eunice Lipton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2016

"Flawed but well-researched and often stirring."
An art historian's account of the research she undertook to understand the life of a mysterious uncle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DARK MIRROR by Sara Lipton
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 4, 2014

"With plenty of illustrations to bolster the text, Lipton has assembled remarkably detailed evidence of the growth of the anti-Jewish images found in the expansion of learning at the beginning of the Middle Ages."
Lipton (History/SUNY Stony Brook; Images of Intolerance: The Representation of Jews and Judaism in the Bible moralisée, 1999) sets out to show that negative images of Jews first appeared as early as the 12th century, long before the generally accepted 15th-century beginnings.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MATING RITUALS OF THE NORTH AMERICAN WASP by Lauren Lipton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 29, 2009

"Lipton's second novel (It's About Your Husband, 2006) does little to distinguish itself from the competition, but the Connecticut scenes provide some funny moments. Peanut butter and bacon on crackers, anyone?"
A night of drunken Las Vegas passion results in a quickie marriage for an anxious Manhattanite and a laconic preppy she would never have seen herself with. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 15, 2007

"An attractive picture postcard with some hard words on the reverse."
An American art historian now living part-time in France loves its cultural sensual pleasures (350 different cheeses! cool cathedrals!) but condemns French xenophobia and anti-Semitism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 12, 2003

"A confidence-shaker that deserves widespread discussion as a new WTC begins to take shape."
A remarkable biography—and autopsy—of the Twin Towers, controversial, like its subject, from start to finish. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"Fans of Rathmann's Good Night, Gorilla (1994) will like this one, too. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The unexpected theme of this picture book featuring a policeman and his dog is jealousy over attention; it has definite child appeal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DAY THE BABIES CRAWLED AWAY by Peggy Rathmann
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"At least as inventive and captivating as 10 Minutes Till Bedtime, this is bound to be a similar hit with children. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Caldecott Medalist Rathmann scores again with this rhymed tale of a child's struggles to chaperone a wayward flock of errant babies, illustrated in vivacious, finely-cut silhouettes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT, GORILLA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: April 13, 1994

"Delightful. (Picture book. 3-7)"
As the sleepy keeper bids him good night, Gorilla snitches his keys; then he creeps after him, letting the other animals out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

10 MINUTES TILL BEDTIME by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"The colors are clear and cheerful; the boy, with his saucer eyes and fuzzy slippers, will enchant any child who has listened to a similar countdown to lights out. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Rathmann (Officer Buckle and Gloria, 1995, etc.) offers a loony look at the shank of one child's evening in this manic picture book. Read full book review >