Search Results: "Peggy Orenstein"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Intelligent and richly insightful."
New York Times Magazine contributor Orenstein (Waiting for Daisy, 2007, etc.) investigates the impact of early sexualization on girls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOOK REVIEW

GIRLS AND SEX by Peggy Orenstein
NON-FICTION
Released: March 29, 2016

"Ample, valuable information on the way young women in America perceive and react to their sexual environment."
An examination of the newest trends in the sex lives of young women in America. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1994

"A comprehensive bibliography and annotated notes enhance Orenstein's ardent and significant exploration of the adolescent roots of key women's issues. (First serial to the New York Times Magazine)"
An intimate and provocative glimpse into the lives of adolescent schoolgirls at two West Coast middle schools by journalist Orenstein (formerly managing editor of Mother Jones). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES OF 2016 - PART FOUR
by Leila Roy

Here I am, at the end of the year… with the end of my reading year. If you’d like to catch up on the first three installments, here are the links: January-March, April-June, July-September.

And now, on with the show!

October: Wrecked, by Maria Padian

I have read a lot—A LOT—of books that deal with sexual assault and rape culture ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ABRAM by Henry Orenstein
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 15, 1999

"The brief tale of an interesting life couched in long stretches of irrelevancies."
Abram Silberstein led a remarkable life in the turbulent 1940s, but his biographer and friend uses this book as an excuse to glibly recap the history of WWII and the rise of Israel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OFF WITH THE OLD by Frank Orenstein
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 31, 1991

"Disappointing follow-up to the author's lively A Killing in Real Estate (1988)."
In the Hudson Valley town of Adams Corner some longtime residents are being decimated by what might or might not be murder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 1994

"A useful resource for the paradoxically ever-evolving tradition of Judaism."
In traditional Jewish ritual, men are usually the primary subjects or objects: They are circumcised, they take a woman in marriage, they say kaddish over the death of a loved one. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A VINTAGE YEAR FOR DYING by Frank Orenstein
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 1, 1994

"The plot rambles, but the small-town characters and atmosphere are engaging, as are Morrison and Lorimer in this cozy, untaxing entertainment."
In the Hudson Valley town of Appleboro, retired cop Hugh Morrison and his widowed neighbor Harriet Lorimer continue their informal investigative partnership (A Killing in Real Estate, 1989). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DIRT by Denise Gosliner Orenstein
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 25, 2017

"This story of a healing relationship between a traumatized girl and a pony needs some mucking out to make it shine. (Fiction. 8-12)"
An 11-year-old white girl's bond with a mischievous Shetland pony helps her heal from the trauma of losing her mother. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"Fans of Rathmann's Good Night, Gorilla (1994) will like this one, too. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The unexpected theme of this picture book featuring a policeman and his dog is jealousy over attention; it has definite child appeal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNSEEN COMPANION by Denise Goslinger Orenstein
FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"Substantial, intermittently spiritual, and very sad: glimmers of hope appear for the two Gussak kids, but only despair seems possible for the two Yup'ik, whose perspective has dwindled away by the end. (glossary) (Fiction. YA)"
This gritty, tightly written Alaskan realism, set in 1969, tackles harsh conditions and whether a sense of self is possible despite them. Read full book review >