Search Results: "Peggy Panagopoulos Strack"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 20, 2012

"An engaging and hope-filled novel that serves as a reminder of the difficult but joyful game that family life can be."
Dissatisfied with his crumbling marriage, hectic workload and chaotic family life, a Washington, D.C., attorney with anger management issues resolves to change his life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"Fans of Rathmann's Good Night, Gorilla (1994) will like this one, too. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The unexpected theme of this picture book featuring a policeman and his dog is jealousy over attention; it has definite child appeal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT, GORILLA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: April 13, 1994

"Delightful. (Picture book. 3-7)"
As the sleepy keeper bids him good night, Gorilla snitches his keys; then he creeps after him, letting the other animals out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DAY THE BABIES CRAWLED AWAY by Peggy Rathmann
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"At least as inventive and captivating as 10 Minutes Till Bedtime, this is bound to be a similar hit with children. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Caldecott Medalist Rathmann scores again with this rhymed tale of a child's struggles to chaperone a wayward flock of errant babies, illustrated in vivacious, finely-cut silhouettes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 22, 1991

"A charming, handsome book. (Nonfiction. 8+)"
A fine introduction to 75 simple and not-so-simple Chinese characters: their derivation, their Mandarin pronunciation, and how to write them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHRIST'S WALK WITH ME by Peggy Kennedy
Released: Jan. 4, 2008

"A pleasant, if uninspired, collection for the already converted."
Christian poetry that avoids blunders, but never distinguishes itself. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELVIS AND THE TROPICAL DOUBLE TROUBLE by Peggy Webb
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"The fourth in Webb's wildly over-the-top series (Elvis and the Memphis Mambo Murders, 2010, etc.) will leave some Elvis fans tickled, others offended. Those outside the magic circle of the King's admirers are likely to be mildly amused."
A beauty shop owner and a Basset Hound with an unusual pedigree take on criminals in Mexico. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Grace and Baby by Peggy Leon
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 9, 2014

"Quiet, lyrical and probing—a jewel of a novel."
Leon's (A Theory of All Things, 2010, etc.) evocative novel centers on two aging sisters, one mentally challenged and the other her caretaker, whose home is unexpectedly joined by two more family members. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Test by Peggy Kern
Released: Dec. 15, 2010

"An engaging combination of romance and drama that credibly conveys an important social message for teens while providing adults with insight into the social and emotional pressures facing today's youth."
In this new entry of the Bluford Series, a collection of novels for teens in fifth to 10th grade, Liselle Mason narrates a personal account of teen pregnancy and its impact on the inner-city students of fictional Bluford High School. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 10, 2011

"A helpful guide to father-daughter relationships, in which the author indicates that a woman must come to terms with her father in order to empower herself."
Drexler (Psychology/Cornell Univ.; Raising Boys Without Men, 2005) sheds new light on the relationship between fathers and daughters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW