Search Results: "Peggy Panagopoulos Strack"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 20, 2012

"An engaging and hope-filled novel that serves as a reminder of the difficult but joyful game that family life can be."
Dissatisfied with his crumbling marriage, hectic workload and chaotic family life, a Washington, D.C., attorney with anger management issues resolves to change his life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"Fans of Rathmann's Good Night, Gorilla (1994) will like this one, too. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The unexpected theme of this picture book featuring a policeman and his dog is jealousy over attention; it has definite child appeal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT, GORILLA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: April 13, 1994

"Delightful. (Picture book. 3-7)"
As the sleepy keeper bids him good night, Gorilla snitches his keys; then he creeps after him, letting the other animals out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DAY THE BABIES CRAWLED AWAY by Peggy Rathmann
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"At least as inventive and captivating as 10 Minutes Till Bedtime, this is bound to be a similar hit with children. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Caldecott Medalist Rathmann scores again with this rhymed tale of a child's struggles to chaperone a wayward flock of errant babies, illustrated in vivacious, finely-cut silhouettes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MANY FACES OF JOSEPHINE BAKER by Peggy Caravantes
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 1, 2015

"A fascinating, compelling story of a remarkably resilient woman who overcame poverty and racial prejudice to become an international celebrity. (source notes, bibliography, index) (Biography. 13-18)"
An honest, revealing portrait of the famed entertainer and activist who was born into extreme poverty and became an international iconic star of the Jazz Age. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2016

"Ada's courage in the face of seemingly insurmountable odds makes for a worthy read. (endnotes, black-and-white photos, source information) (Biography. 11-18)"
Determined to raise money to provide medical care for her tubercular son, 23-year-old Alaska Native Ada Blackjack accompanied four white explorers on an expedition to settle uninhabited Wrangel Island, far off the coast of Alaska, in August 1921. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TELLING THE BEES by Peggy Hesketh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 7, 2013

"An intermittently arcane but undeniably original debut."
Friendship between two beekeepers leads to tragedy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Potato In A Rice Bowl by Peggy Keener
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2010

"Endearing, affectionate, and often funny reminiscences."
A lighthearted debut memoir about a young Colorado mother's full-on collision with Japanese culture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 22, 1991

"A charming, handsome book. (Nonfiction. 8+)"
A fine introduction to 75 simple and not-so-simple Chinese characters: their derivation, their Mandarin pronunciation, and how to write them. Read full book review >