Search Results: "Peggy Thomson"


BOOK REVIEW

PEGGY by Anna Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 4, 2014

"Here's hoping that Peggy has many more big adventures. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A charmer of a chicken has a big adventure in this import from Australia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VIRGIL THOMSON by Anthony Tommasini
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1997

"Tommasini had access to the relevant documents and made reasonable use of them, but his book lacks the qualities Thomson's own writings always had: wit, verve, and a sense of history. (photos, not seen)"
A generally informative biography of the influential American composer that suffers, paradoxically, from its author's intimacy with his subject. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEGGY GUGGENHEIM by Francine Prose
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 29, 2015

"An adroit and lively portrait."
The latest in the Jewish Lives series focuses on a flamboyant champion of modern art. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 21, 2012

"Ultimately, readers come away with not only a sense of how King Peggy was able to transform Otuam, but also an understanding of how the town and its inhabitants transformed her."
Bartels was working as a secretary in the Ghanaian Embassy when she received a phone call that would change her life. The king of Otuam, a small coastal town of 7,000 people, had passed away, and the tribal elders had elected her as his replacement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TAKE ME OUT TO THE BAT AND BALL FACTORY by Peggy Thomson
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1998

"The pictures, though a bit wooden, are perfectly serviceable and clear, rounding out this pleasant survey of an interesting subject. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-11)"
In a format that echoes that of the Magic Schoolbus titles, Thomson (City Kids in China, 1991, etc.) takes readers behind the scenes at the manufacturer of baseball bats and balls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MISS PEGGY LEE by Peggy Lee
Released: March 1, 1989

Seductive and gripping life of the jazz-influenced band vocalist-recording-star-cafÇ singer-composer-actress—and a necessary corrective to Miss Lee's rather strange, mannikin-like appearance on recent TV outings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY KIDS IN CHINA by Peggy Thomson
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 15, 1991

"A good book that could have been excellent. (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
The team responsible for the well-reviewed Keepers and Creatures at the National Zoo (1988) here presents a less successful book based on their visit to China. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 1996

"Hollywood memoirs just don't get any better than this. (32 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
Two thumbs up for this engrossing, sometimes shocking, memoir of life as a child actor during the silent-movie era. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 1, 1997

"The vivid full-color photographs of the collections and personnel at work both enhance the story and draw readers into the timeline of events; they will never again visit an art museum without an awareness of the complex preparations for the treasures on display. (Nonfiction. 9+)"
Other than the confusing title (which goes without explanation until well into the book), this is an exciting, well-written, and informative account of all the planning and coordination necessary to keep the National Gallery of Art in Washington ready for its 17,000 daily visitors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"Fans of Rathmann's Good Night, Gorilla (1994) will like this one, too. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The unexpected theme of this picture book featuring a policeman and his dog is jealousy over attention; it has definite child appeal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TYPEWRITER by Bill Thomson
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 8, 2016

"Words rule in this intriguing, impressive, imaginative, nearly wordless narrative drama. (Picturebook. 5-9)"
Three kids find an old typewriter, igniting spectacular surprises when they start playing with it. Read full book review >