Search Results: "Peggy Thomson"


BOOK REVIEW

TAKE ME OUT TO THE BAT AND BALL FACTORY by Peggy Thomson
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1998

"The pictures, though a bit wooden, are perfectly serviceable and clear, rounding out this pleasant survey of an interesting subject. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-11)"
In a format that echoes that of the Magic Schoolbus titles, Thomson (City Kids in China, 1991, etc.) takes readers behind the scenes at the manufacturer of baseball bats and balls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY KIDS IN CHINA by Peggy Thomson
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 15, 1991

"A good book that could have been excellent. (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
The team responsible for the well-reviewed Keepers and Creatures at the National Zoo (1988) here presents a less successful book based on their visit to China. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 1, 1997

"The vivid full-color photographs of the collections and personnel at work both enhance the story and draw readers into the timeline of events; they will never again visit an art museum without an awareness of the complex preparations for the treasures on display. (Nonfiction. 9+)"
Other than the confusing title (which goes without explanation until well into the book), this is an exciting, well-written, and informative account of all the planning and coordination necessary to keep the National Gallery of Art in Washington ready for its 17,000 daily visitors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"Fans of Rathmann's Good Night, Gorilla (1994) will like this one, too. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The unexpected theme of this picture book featuring a policeman and his dog is jealousy over attention; it has definite child appeal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TYPEWRITER by Bill Thomson
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 8, 2016

"Words rule in this intriguing, impressive, imaginative, nearly wordless narrative drama. (Picturebook. 5-9)"
Three kids find an old typewriter, igniting spectacular surprises when they start playing with it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

10 MINUTES TILL BEDTIME by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"The colors are clear and cheerful; the boy, with his saucer eyes and fuzzy slippers, will enchant any child who has listened to a similar countdown to lights out. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Rathmann (Officer Buckle and Gloria, 1995, etc.) offers a loony look at the shank of one child's evening in this manic picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DAY THE BABIES CRAWLED AWAY by Peggy Rathmann
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"At least as inventive and captivating as 10 Minutes Till Bedtime, this is bound to be a similar hit with children. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Caldecott Medalist Rathmann scores again with this rhymed tale of a child's struggles to chaperone a wayward flock of errant babies, illustrated in vivacious, finely-cut silhouettes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 22, 1991

"A charming, handsome book. (Nonfiction. 8+)"
A fine introduction to 75 simple and not-so-simple Chinese characters: their derivation, their Mandarin pronunciation, and how to write them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 10, 2011

"A helpful guide to father-daughter relationships, in which the author indicates that a woman must come to terms with her father in order to empower herself."
Drexler (Psychology/Cornell Univ.; Raising Boys Without Men, 2005) sheds new light on the relationship between fathers and daughters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELVIS AND THE TROPICAL DOUBLE TROUBLE by Peggy Webb
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"The fourth in Webb's wildly over-the-top series (Elvis and the Memphis Mambo Murders, 2010, etc.) will leave some Elvis fans tickled, others offended. Those outside the magic circle of the King's admirers are likely to be mildly amused."
A beauty shop owner and a Basset Hound with an unusual pedigree take on criminals in Mexico. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Test by Peggy Kern
Released: Dec. 15, 2010

"An engaging combination of romance and drama that credibly conveys an important social message for teens while providing adults with insight into the social and emotional pressures facing today's youth."
In this new entry of the Bluford Series, a collection of novels for teens in fifth to 10th grade, Liselle Mason narrates a personal account of teen pregnancy and its impact on the inner-city students of fictional Bluford High School. Read full book review >