Search Results: "Peggy Thomson"


BOOK REVIEW

TAKE ME OUT TO THE BAT AND BALL FACTORY by Peggy Thomson
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1998

"The pictures, though a bit wooden, are perfectly serviceable and clear, rounding out this pleasant survey of an interesting subject. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-11)"
In a format that echoes that of the Magic Schoolbus titles, Thomson (City Kids in China, 1991, etc.) takes readers behind the scenes at the manufacturer of baseball bats and balls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY KIDS IN CHINA by Peggy Thomson
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 15, 1991

"A good book that could have been excellent. (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
The team responsible for the well-reviewed Keepers and Creatures at the National Zoo (1988) here presents a less successful book based on their visit to China. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 1, 1997

"The vivid full-color photographs of the collections and personnel at work both enhance the story and draw readers into the timeline of events; they will never again visit an art museum without an awareness of the complex preparations for the treasures on display. (Nonfiction. 9+)"
Other than the confusing title (which goes without explanation until well into the book), this is an exciting, well-written, and informative account of all the planning and coordination necessary to keep the National Gallery of Art in Washington ready for its 17,000 daily visitors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TYPEWRITER by Bill Thomson
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 8, 2016

"Words rule in this intriguing, impressive, imaginative, nearly wordless narrative drama. (Picturebook. 5-9)"
Three kids find an old typewriter, igniting spectacular surprises when they start playing with it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"Fans of Rathmann's Good Night, Gorilla (1994) will like this one, too. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The unexpected theme of this picture book featuring a policeman and his dog is jealousy over attention; it has definite child appeal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

10 MINUTES TILL BEDTIME by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"The colors are clear and cheerful; the boy, with his saucer eyes and fuzzy slippers, will enchant any child who has listened to a similar countdown to lights out. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Rathmann (Officer Buckle and Gloria, 1995, etc.) offers a loony look at the shank of one child's evening in this manic picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DAY THE BABIES CRAWLED AWAY by Peggy Rathmann
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"At least as inventive and captivating as 10 Minutes Till Bedtime, this is bound to be a similar hit with children. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Caldecott Medalist Rathmann scores again with this rhymed tale of a child's struggles to chaperone a wayward flock of errant babies, illustrated in vivacious, finely-cut silhouettes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURE
Released: June 1, 2004

"Better written than the usual teen thriller fare, the series promises to hook readers with suspense, action, and adolescent romance. (Fiction. YA)"
This sci-fi thriller with a dose of high-school angst is the first in a series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VISUAL MAGIC by David Thomson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1991

"A dandy introduction to the concept of perception. (Nonfiction. 9-12)"
An intriguing compilation of optical illusions: images that sort themselves out when studied or that can be read more than one way; op art; an Escher; pictures that gain a third dimension when viewed through the special glasses provided, etc. Several of these have appeared elsewhere, but it's instructive to have them together in this handy eight-inch square book—especially with Thomson's brief but lucid explanations of what is happening when the eye and mind try to decipher images that are designed to confuse them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRUST FUND KIDS by Tony Thomson
Released: Feb. 3, 2013

"A comedy of human follies that's difficult to enjoy."
A biting satire of cloistered lives in small-town New England. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH OF A MURDERER by Rupert Thomson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 10, 2007

"A penetrating, introspective twist on the morose-British-constable genre."
A policeman reflects on our potential for evil as he guards the corpse of a female child molester and murderer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THREE BLACK BOYS by Zangba  Thomson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 5, 2008

"Structural flaws can't undermine the raw power of this stark, timely story about life in the urban underbelly."
West African author mines the hardscrabble life of young inner-city thugs. Read full book review >