Search Results: "Peggy Tibbetts"


BOOK REVIEW

RUMORS OF WAR by Peggy Tibbetts
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 29, 2000

"Thankfully, though, there's a bright spot: Ilene's stock mother-in-law-from-hell, who manages to spring to vivid and frightening life. She should get her own book."
Petty suburban struggles, set against the backdrop of the Persian Gulf War. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"Fans of Rathmann's Good Night, Gorilla (1994) will like this one, too. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The unexpected theme of this picture book featuring a policeman and his dog is jealousy over attention; it has definite child appeal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT, GORILLA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: April 13, 1994

"Delightful. (Picture book. 3-7)"
As the sleepy keeper bids him good night, Gorilla snitches his keys; then he creeps after him, letting the other animals out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DAY THE BABIES CRAWLED AWAY by Peggy Rathmann
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"At least as inventive and captivating as 10 Minutes Till Bedtime, this is bound to be a similar hit with children. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Caldecott Medalist Rathmann scores again with this rhymed tale of a child's struggles to chaperone a wayward flock of errant babies, illustrated in vivacious, finely-cut silhouettes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MANY FACES OF JOSEPHINE BAKER by Peggy Caravantes
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 1, 2015

"A fascinating, compelling story of a remarkably resilient woman who overcame poverty and racial prejudice to become an international celebrity. (source notes, bibliography, index) (Biography. 13-18)"
An honest, revealing portrait of the famed entertainer and activist who was born into extreme poverty and became an international iconic star of the Jazz Age. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2016

"Ada's courage in the face of seemingly insurmountable odds makes for a worthy read. (endnotes, black-and-white photos, source information) (Biography. 11-18)"
Determined to raise money to provide medical care for her tubercular son, 23-year-old Alaska Native Ada Blackjack accompanied four white explorers on an expedition to settle uninhabited Wrangel Island, far off the coast of Alaska, in August 1921. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TELLING THE BEES by Peggy Hesketh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 7, 2013

"An intermittently arcane but undeniably original debut."
Friendship between two beekeepers leads to tragedy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Potato In A Rice Bowl by Peggy Keener
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2010

"Endearing, affectionate, and often funny reminiscences."
A lighthearted debut memoir about a young Colorado mother's full-on collision with Japanese culture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 22, 1991

"A charming, handsome book. (Nonfiction. 8+)"
A fine introduction to 75 simple and not-so-simple Chinese characters: their derivation, their Mandarin pronunciation, and how to write them. Read full book review >