Search Results: "Peggy Turley"


BOOK REVIEW

PEGGY by Anna Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 4, 2014

"Here's hoping that Peggy has many more big adventures. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A charmer of a chicken has a big adventure in this import from Australia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ARMADILLO RAY by John Beifuss
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 1995

"In his first book, Beifuss's text is somewhat wordy, but its point is simple and accessible, its protagonist endearing, and the vibrancy of the illustrations silences debate over minor details. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Readers will be drawn here first to newcomer Turley's paintings: oil pastels more dazzling than Mexican folk art that depict a stylized southwestern landscape. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEGGY GUGGENHEIM by Francine Prose
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 29, 2015

"An adroit and lively portrait."
The latest in the Jewish Lives series focuses on a flamboyant champion of modern art. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 21, 2012

"Ultimately, readers come away with not only a sense of how King Peggy was able to transform Otuam, but also an understanding of how the town and its inhabitants transformed her."
Bartels was working as a secretary in the Ghanaian Embassy when she received a phone call that would change her life. The king of Otuam, a small coastal town of 7,000 people, had passed away, and the tribal elders had elected her as his replacement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PASTEBOARD BANDIT by Arna Bontemps
FICTION
Released: Nov. 20, 1997

"Consider this a long-lost literary relic, available at last, more for study than pleasure. (Fiction. 12+)"
Sandwiched between an introduction by Bontemps's son and a biographical and analytical afterword is a never-before-published story, innovative for its time, written in 1935 by two icons in the history of African-American literature. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MISS PEGGY LEE by Peggy Lee
Released: March 1, 1989

Seductive and gripping life of the jazz-influenced band vocalist-recording-star-cafÇ singer-composer-actress—and a necessary corrective to Miss Lee's rather strange, mannikin-like appearance on recent TV outings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 1996

"Hollywood memoirs just don't get any better than this. (32 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
Two thumbs up for this engrossing, sometimes shocking, memoir of life as a child actor during the silent-movie era. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 27, 2008

"Scholarly and well written, but incendiary and potentially offensive."
A controversial reexamination of the Nuremberg Trial. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BEAR'S YEAR by Kathy Duval
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 27, 2015

"A slow, soft read-aloud, good for bedtime or when Bear Snores On is too rowdy. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In short rhyming text, a mother bear and her cubs experience a year of changing seasons until it's time to hibernate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"Fans of Rathmann's Good Night, Gorilla (1994) will like this one, too. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The unexpected theme of this picture book featuring a policeman and his dog is jealousy over attention; it has definite child appeal. Read full book review >