Search Results: "Peggy Wethered"


BOOK REVIEW

TOUCHDOWN MARS! by Peggy Wethered
ABC BOOKS
Released: May 1, 2000

"A beginning science title to spur the imagination. (Nonfiction. 6-8)"
"You are an astronaut! These are your crewmates. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"Fans of Rathmann's Good Night, Gorilla (1994) will like this one, too. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The unexpected theme of this picture book featuring a policeman and his dog is jealousy over attention; it has definite child appeal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

10 MINUTES TILL BEDTIME by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"The colors are clear and cheerful; the boy, with his saucer eyes and fuzzy slippers, will enchant any child who has listened to a similar countdown to lights out. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Rathmann (Officer Buckle and Gloria, 1995, etc.) offers a loony look at the shank of one child's evening in this manic picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RUBY THE COPYCAT by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 1991

At first, when new-girl Ruby imitates Angela, Angela takes it in good part: they must be kindred spirits. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT, GORILLA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: April 13, 1994

"Delightful. (Picture book. 3-7)"
As the sleepy keeper bids him good night, Gorilla snitches his keys; then he creeps after him, letting the other animals out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 22, 1991

"A charming, handsome book. (Nonfiction. 8+)"
A fine introduction to 75 simple and not-so-simple Chinese characters: their derivation, their Mandarin pronunciation, and how to write them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 10, 2011

"A helpful guide to father-daughter relationships, in which the author indicates that a woman must come to terms with her father in order to empower herself."
Drexler (Psychology/Cornell Univ.; Raising Boys Without Men, 2005) sheds new light on the relationship between fathers and daughters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELVIS AND THE TROPICAL DOUBLE TROUBLE by Peggy Webb
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"The fourth in Webb's wildly over-the-top series (Elvis and the Memphis Mambo Murders, 2010, etc.) will leave some Elvis fans tickled, others offended. Those outside the magic circle of the King's admirers are likely to be mildly amused."
A beauty shop owner and a Basset Hound with an unusual pedigree take on criminals in Mexico. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Grace and Baby by Peggy Leon
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 9, 2014

"Quiet, lyrical and probing—a jewel of a novel."
Leon's (A Theory of All Things, 2010, etc.) evocative novel centers on two aging sisters, one mentally challenged and the other her caretaker, whose home is unexpectedly joined by two more family members. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHRIST'S WALK WITH ME by Peggy Kennedy
Released: Jan. 4, 2008

"A pleasant, if uninspired, collection for the already converted."
Christian poetry that avoids blunders, but never distinguishes itself. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW