Search Results: "Penelope Evans"


BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE by Penelope Farmer
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1996

"In Farmer's capable hands, it's still a compelling read, even if all the parts don't hold together. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Farmer (Thicker than Water, 1993, etc.) produces a smoothly written family drama with supernatural elements that only partly mesh. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WALKER EVANS by Thomas Nau
MUSIC AND THE ARTS
Released: April 1, 2007

"Nevertheless, it succeeds in conveying the intellectual and social environment that nurtured Evans and his unwavering artistic vision—for that reason, it's an important document. (source notes, bibliography, chronology, index) (Nonfiction. 12+)"
Nau presents the life and times of photographer Walker Evans, who first found widespread recognition with his photos for James Agee's Let Us Now Praise Famous Men. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRST FRUITS by Penelope Evans
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 1, 2000

"A wonderfully creepy dose for people who look back on their childhood with uncritical nostalgia."
The hothouse world—rife with endless conflicts, envy, one-upmanship, and hidden secrets—of an Edinburgh teenager's monstrous minutiae. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FREEZING by Penelope Evans
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 1, 1998

"Maybe, but meanwhile Evans uses every word of her novel to immerse its mousy hero more deeply into his death-in-life."
A lonely morgue photographer's fixation on a late client unleashes madness and violence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST GIRL by Penelope Evans
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 1996

"Ruth Rendell can retire secure in knowing she's passed the torch."
A British first novel that opens a claustrophobically creepy window into the mind of a madman as plausible as John Fowles's Collector. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE CRUMB by Shawn K. Stout
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2012

"Fans of Clementine and Ramona will cheer as new friend Penelope finds what she is looking for. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Penelope Crumb's large nose links her to her mysterious grandfather, who, it turns out, is not Graveyard Dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WALKER EVANS by James R. Mellow
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1999

"Well written, lively, and thoroughly documented, Mellow's biography is a fine contribution to American art and cultural history."
A superb biography of a photographer who, dead for a quarter of a century, still exerts a powerful influence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE PERFECT by Shannon Anderson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"It's not perfect, but it means well. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Penelope tries hard to be, as the title indicates, perfect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE FITZGERALD by Hermione Lee
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 18, 2014

"Another winning biography from Lee. Those who love Fitzgerald's work will tuck this book right next to her volumes."
Lee (President/Wolfson Coll., Oxford; Biography: A Very Short Introduction, 2009) devotes her considerable talents for biography to Penelope Knox Fitzgerald (1916-2000), who didn't publish her first book until the age of 58.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ME, PENELOPE by Lisa Jahn-Clough
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 2007

"This device, used by many authors for teens, is tiresome, but does serve up extra drama for the intended audience. (Fiction. YA)"
Sixteen-year-old Penelope—or Lopi—is a solitary sort who wishes for two things: to graduate early from high school, and to have sex with someone she loves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVANS ABOVE by Rhys Bowen
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 11, 1997

"Llanfair, with its challenging mountain and well drawn locals, is appealing, as is Constable Evans, a kind of Welsh version of M.C. Beaton's Hamish MacBeth."
A pleasingly unpretentious debut that introduces Constable Evan Evans, newly arrived in Llanfair, a village at the foot of Mount Snowden in North Wales. Read full book review >