Search Results: "Penelope Fitzgerald"


BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE FITZGERALD by Hermione Lee
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 18, 2014

"Another winning biography from Lee. Those who love Fitzgerald's work will tuck this book right next to her volumes."
Lee (President/Wolfson Coll., Oxford; Biography: A Very Short Introduction, 2009) devotes her considerable talents for biography to Penelope Knox Fitzgerald (1916-2000), who didn't publish her first book until the age of 58.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE by Penelope Farmer
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1996

"In Farmer's capable hands, it's still a compelling read, even if all the parts don't hold together. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Farmer (Thicker than Water, 1993, etc.) produces a smoothly written family drama with supernatural elements that only partly mesh. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE AFTERLIFE by Penelope Fitzgerald
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Nov. 15, 2003

"Her sidelong journeys through the stalls and stacks, pointing out treasures and private passions, will delight those Virginia Woolf honored with the designation 'the common reader,' who are, of course, none-too-common these days."
Though Fitzgerald, who died in 2000, was surely a writer for her time, the English novelist and essayist (The Means of Escape, 2000, etc.) seemed most at home wandering through libraries devoted to late Victorian and Edwardian writers, many now forgotten. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MEANS OF ESCAPE by Penelope Fitzgerald
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 19, 2000

"Everything that Fitzgerald touches here, large or small, turns quietly to gold."
From the late, illustrious Fitzgerald (The Blue Flower, The Bookshop, both 1997, etc.), a volume of stories that will disappoint the great novelist's readers only by the fact of its being so slender. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOOKSHOP by Penelope Fitzgerald
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1997

"Pitch-perfect in every tone, note, and detail: unflinching, humane, and wonderful."
On the heels of The Blue Flower (1997), here's a slighter, equally charming, half as deep little novel—about snobbery and meanness in the provinces—that the immensely gifted Fitzgerald published in England in 1978. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GATE OF ANGELS by Penelope Fitzgerald
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 1992

"A not-too-serious postmodern and feminine riposte to collegiate misogyny and some of E.M. Forster."
The entertaining latest from Fitzgerald (The Beginning of Spring, 1989, etc.)—as much a story of love in Edwardian England as a gentle but witty sendup of the genre and the age. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLUE FLOWER by Penelope Fitzgerald
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 15, 1997

"A historical novel that's touching, funny, unflinchingly tragic, and at the same time uncompromising in its accuracy, learning and detail: a book that brings its subject entirely alive, almost nothing seeming beyond its grasp."
The German poet Novalis (1772-1801) was really Friedrich Leopold von Hardenberg and Fitzgerald (The Gates of Angels, 1992; Offshore, 1987, etc.) here re-creates him, his family, his doomed young lover Sophie von Kühn, and Sophie's huge family—not to mention the era all of them lived in—in the most human-sized and yet intellectually capacious narrative a reader could wish for. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE PERFECT by Shannon Anderson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"It's not perfect, but it means well. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Penelope tries hard to be, as the title indicates, perfect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE CRUMB by Shawn K. Stout
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2012

"Fans of Clementine and Ramona will cheer as new friend Penelope finds what she is looking for. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Penelope Crumb's large nose links her to her mysterious grandfather, who, it turns out, is not Graveyard Dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELLA FITZGERALD by Tanya Lee Stone
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 1, 2008

"Readers will come away knowing much more about jazz history than they would have expected and will find it hard to stop reading about this fascinating woman. (source notes, bibliography, index, author's note) (Biography. 11+)"
Explaining that the story of her subject's life was often filled with misinformation, Stone uses extensive resources to set the record straight. Read full book review >