Search Results: "Penelope Niven"


BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE by Penelope Farmer
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1996

"In Farmer's capable hands, it's still a compelling read, even if all the parts don't hold together. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Farmer (Thicker than Water, 1993, etc.) produces a smoothly written family drama with supernatural elements that only partly mesh. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARL SANDBURG by Penelope Niven
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 22, 1991

Sandburg's long life (1878-1967) illustrates the great American success story: Emerging from an austere Swedish immigrant background, through work, discipline, clean living, and high thinking he achieved fame, love, power, and money, and was identified at his death, at age 89, with the voice of America. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THORNTON WILDER by Penelope Niven
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2012

"Although at times overwhelmed by her own research, Niven creates a perceptive, indispensable portrait of a productive and restlessly intellectual life."
A satisfying and insightful, if overlong, picture of a solitary writer who never stopped being a family man. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STEICHEN by Penelope Niven
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 1997

"Highly informative, and an absolute necessity for understanding the development of photography as an art form in the first half of this century. (50 b&w photos, not seen)"
While working on her well-received biography of Carl Sandburg (1991), Niven became fascinated by the poet's brother-in-law, the pioneering photographer Edward Steichen (18791973). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARL SANDBURG by Penelope Niven
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Aug. 1, 2003

"However, despite credits for Sandburg's writings and many grateful acknowledgments, there is no indication of the written sources used for the primary text. (Picture book/biography. 6-9)"
A clever organization and nostalgic ink-and-watercolor illustrations cannot save this picture-book biography of one of the 20th century's great men of letters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE PERFECT by Shannon Anderson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"It's not perfect, but it means well. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Penelope tries hard to be, as the title indicates, perfect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE CRUMB by Shawn K. Stout
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2012

"Fans of Clementine and Ramona will cheer as new friend Penelope finds what she is looking for. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Penelope Crumb's large nose links her to her mysterious grandfather, who, it turns out, is not Graveyard Dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE FITZGERALD by Hermione Lee
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 18, 2014

"Another winning biography from Lee. Those who love Fitzgerald's work will tuck this book right next to her volumes."
Lee (President/Wolfson Coll., Oxford; Biography: A Very Short Introduction, 2009) devotes her considerable talents for biography to Penelope Knox Fitzgerald (1916-2000), who didn't publish her first book until the age of 58.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ME, PENELOPE by Lisa Jahn-Clough
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 2007

"This device, used by many authors for teens, is tiresome, but does serve up extra drama for the intended audience. (Fiction. YA)"
Sixteen-year-old Penelope—or Lopi—is a solitary sort who wishes for two things: to graduate early from high school, and to have sex with someone she loves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS PENELOPE by Todd Mack
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2003

"Literal-minded children won't connect with Penelope, but imaginative princess wannabes will consider her a kindred spirit. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Mack and Gran make a joint debut with this whimsical story of an inventive little girl named Penelope who likes to pretend she is a princess. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VOICES AND SILENCES by James Earl Jones
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 13, 1993

"A star is born among the classics on acting. (Three eight-page photo inserts—not seen)"
An autobiography in brief, as well as a supremely rewarding text on acting, by the always brooding, green-eyed black actor today best known as the voice of Darth Vader and the steely, saturnine voice of New Jersey Bell. Read full book review >