Search Results: "Penelope Stanley-Baker"


BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE by Penelope Farmer
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1996

"In Farmer's capable hands, it's still a compelling read, even if all the parts don't hold together. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Farmer (Thicker than Water, 1993, etc.) produces a smoothly written family drama with supernatural elements that only partly mesh. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRYDERYK CHOPIN by Catherine Weill
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2012

"Attractive to look at, to hold and to hear, this is a good selection for music-making children. (Informational picture book/audiobook. 6-10)"
Charming illustrations and a thoughtful choice of performance examples enhance this deceptively simple introduction to the life and work of Frederic Chopin that emphasizes the singing voice of his piano music. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE PERFECT by Shannon Anderson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"It's not perfect, but it means well. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Penelope tries hard to be, as the title indicates, perfect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STANLEY AT SCHOOL by Linda Bailey
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2015

"Here's hoping readers feel the same way about school as Stanley does; even if they don't, though, they are sure to laugh at the dogs' adventures. Where will they end up next? (Picture book. 4-8)"
Stanley's curiosity this time leads him to find out what all the kids do in school every day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE CRUMB by Shawn K. Stout
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2012

"Fans of Clementine and Ramona will cheer as new friend Penelope finds what she is looking for. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Penelope Crumb's large nose links her to her mysterious grandfather, who, it turns out, is not Graveyard Dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE FITZGERALD by Hermione Lee
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 18, 2014

"Another winning biography from Lee. Those who love Fitzgerald's work will tuck this book right next to her volumes."
Lee (President/Wolfson Coll., Oxford; Biography: A Very Short Introduction, 2009) devotes her considerable talents for biography to Penelope Knox Fitzgerald (1916-2000), who didn't publish her first book until the age of 58.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ME, PENELOPE by Lisa Jahn-Clough
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 2007

"This device, used by many authors for teens, is tiresome, but does serve up extra drama for the intended audience. (Fiction. YA)"
Sixteen-year-old Penelope—or Lopi—is a solitary sort who wishes for two things: to graduate early from high school, and to have sex with someone she loves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BAKER by Paul Hond
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 1998

"A bright Beaujolais of a book: fresh, optimistic, and sophisticated enough to satisfy on many levels."
A debut novel that transforms the terror of working-class, inner-city race relations into an upbeat examination of love, loss, and father-son bonding. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STANLEY THE FARMER by William Bee
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2015

"Steady and bright, this will appeal to toddlers looking for comfort, not thrills. (Picture book. 2-4)"
A cartoonlike hamster named Stanley and two other small mammals demonstrate the steps used to plant, maintain and harvest wheat at a typical commercial farm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STANLEY THE BUILDER by William Bee
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Nonetheless, little listeners are sure to come back to Stanley over and over, as he explores jobs and uses equipment sure to pique their interest. (Picture book. 2-6)"
In Bee's new series, Stanley the hamster explores jobs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS PENELOPE by Todd Mack
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2003

"Literal-minded children won't connect with Penelope, but imaginative princess wannabes will consider her a kindred spirit. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Mack and Gran make a joint debut with this whimsical story of an inventive little girl named Penelope who likes to pretend she is a princess. Read full book review >