Search Results: "Penny Blubaugh"


BOOK REVIEW

BLOOD AND FLOWERS by Penny Blubaugh
FANTASY
Released: March 1, 2011

"While the denouement feels anticlimactic, atmospheric language, arresting 'culture mash-up,' unique characters, an alluring overlap of fantasy and reality and strong themes of family and friendship create a provocative read. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
As in Serendipity Market (2009), Blubaugh blends the magical and mundane into an original fantasy, told here by an 18-year-old who finds a home among an eclectic group of human and faerie folk. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SERENDIPITY MARKET by Penny Blubaugh
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: March 1, 2009

"Together they offer memorable storytellers, magical tales and marvelous language that should indeed help balance the world. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
In this debut storytelling tour de force, Blubaugh repackages familiar folk- and fairy-tale themes with contemporary verve and wit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRAZY-PENNY by Ricky Taillefer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 26, 2015

"A quirky but barely comprehensible novel."
Taillefer tells the story of man whose lucky coin starts to talk in this debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HENNY PENNY by Vivian French
ADVENTURE
Released: July 1, 2006

"A welcome addition to the fairy-tale genre. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The traditional tale gets a new—and happier—ending in this clever retelling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY AND HER MARBLE by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"Another gem. (Early reader. 5-8)"
Whose marble is it? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY AND HER DOLL by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"A doll of a beginning reader. (Early reader. 5-7)"
Following Penny and Her Song (2012), Henkes delivers an even stronger slice of anthropomorphic mouse life for beginning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY AND HER SONG by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"A charming, child-friendly take on the ever-popular new-baby theme. (Early reader. 3-8)"
Penny sings a joyful song that resonates in her happy mouse family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEASURING PENNY by Loreen Leedy
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1998

"Readers will be inspired to measure their own pets; it will be up to their pets, of course, to cooperate. (Picture book. 6-9)"
A terrific pedagogical idea from Leedy (Mission: Addition, 1997, etc.) that offers instruction and no small dose of delight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY DREADFUL by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

"The novel's theme of friendship will appeal to fans of The Penderwicks, The Mysterious Benedict Society and Hilary McKay's Casson Family books. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Not dreadful at all, this very pleasant book introduces rich, lonely ten-year-old Penelope Gray, who lives in a tightly controlled and boring world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY DREADFUL by Will Christopher Baer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 6, 2000

"Baer's over-the-top magic, however, will attract and lock in new members to his cult."
Please deposit four quarters to read the following, about a novel that bears bits of colored glass and has sex coming from it in waves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY HIKE by Bobby S. Richardson
Released: Jan. 31, 2014

"Evocative setting but overwritten prose."
An abused young teenager deals with his mother's cancer while making new friends in this YA novel set in Somerville, Mass. Read full book review >