Search Results: "Penny Chisholm"


BOOK REVIEW

CRAZY-PENNY by Ricky Taillefer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 26, 2015

"A quirky but barely comprehensible novel."
Taillefer tells the story of man whose lucky coin starts to talk in this debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HENNY PENNY by Vivian French
ADVENTURE
Released: July 1, 2006

"A welcome addition to the fairy-tale genre. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The traditional tale gets a new—and happier—ending in this clever retelling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY AND HER MARBLE by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"Another gem. (Early reader. 5-8)"
Whose marble is it? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY AND HER DOLL by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"A doll of a beginning reader. (Early reader. 5-7)"
Following Penny and Her Song (2012), Henkes delivers an even stronger slice of anthropomorphic mouse life for beginning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RIVERS OF SUNLIGHT by Molly Bang
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 31, 2017

"A handsome invitation to earth science. (notes) (Nonfiction. 4-10)"
The way that the warmth of our sun creates the ebb and flow of water among Earth, its atmosphere, its oceans, and land is the subject of this latest edition to Chisholm and Bang's gorgeous series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2012

"Readers will want to visit more than once to capture both the science and the abundant sense of celebration here. (Informational picture book. 5-11)"
An awe-inspiring lesson in photosynthesis goes under the sea. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY AND HER SONG by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"A charming, child-friendly take on the ever-popular new-baby theme. (Early reader. 3-8)"
Penny sings a joyful song that resonates in her happy mouse family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY DREADFUL by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

"The novel's theme of friendship will appeal to fans of The Penderwicks, The Mysterious Benedict Society and Hilary McKay's Casson Family books. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Not dreadful at all, this very pleasant book introduces rich, lonely ten-year-old Penelope Gray, who lives in a tightly controlled and boring world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY DREADFUL by Will Christopher Baer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 6, 2000

"Baer's over-the-top magic, however, will attract and lock in new members to his cult."
Please deposit four quarters to read the following, about a novel that bears bits of colored glass and has sex coming from it in waves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Gorgeous illustrations and impressive, urgent scientific explanation. (Nonfiction.7-12)"
This fourth in Chisholm and Bang's series about the sun's relationship to life on Earth explores its ancient stores of fossil fuels and the effect of intense and rapid consumption of these in recent human history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEASURING PENNY by Loreen Leedy
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1998

"Readers will be inspired to measure their own pets; it will be up to their pets, of course, to cooperate. (Picture book. 6-9)"
A terrific pedagogical idea from Leedy (Mission: Addition, 1997, etc.) that offers instruction and no small dose of delight. Read full book review >