Search Results: "Penny Junor"


BOOK REVIEW

PRINCE HARRY by Penny Junor
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 9, 2014

"A premature biography that will interest devoted royal watchers."
A look at how the rascally fourth in line to the British throne has been forgiven youthful indiscretions but faces serious career decisions at age 30. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAN WHO LIVES WITH WOLVES by Shaun Ellis
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 13, 2009

"Occasionally heavy handed, but offers a unique perspective on the intersection of man and wild."
The wolfman reveals his human side. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRAZY-PENNY by Ricky Taillefer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 26, 2015

"A quirky but barely comprehensible novel."
Taillefer tells the story of man whose lucky coin starts to talk in this debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HENNY PENNY by Vivian French
ADVENTURE
Released: July 1, 2006

"A welcome addition to the fairy-tale genre. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The traditional tale gets a new—and happier—ending in this clever retelling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY AND HER MARBLE by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"Another gem. (Early reader. 5-8)"
Whose marble is it? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY AND HER DOLL by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"A doll of a beginning reader. (Early reader. 5-7)"
Following Penny and Her Song (2012), Henkes delivers an even stronger slice of anthropomorphic mouse life for beginning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY AND HER SONG by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"A charming, child-friendly take on the ever-popular new-baby theme. (Early reader. 3-8)"
Penny sings a joyful song that resonates in her happy mouse family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEASURING PENNY by Loreen Leedy
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1998

"Readers will be inspired to measure their own pets; it will be up to their pets, of course, to cooperate. (Picture book. 6-9)"
A terrific pedagogical idea from Leedy (Mission: Addition, 1997, etc.) that offers instruction and no small dose of delight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY DREADFUL by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

"The novel's theme of friendship will appeal to fans of The Penderwicks, The Mysterious Benedict Society and Hilary McKay's Casson Family books. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Not dreadful at all, this very pleasant book introduces rich, lonely ten-year-old Penelope Gray, who lives in a tightly controlled and boring world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY DREADFUL by Will Christopher Baer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 6, 2000

"Baer's over-the-top magic, however, will attract and lock in new members to his cult."
Please deposit four quarters to read the following, about a novel that bears bits of colored glass and has sex coming from it in waves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY HIKE by Bobby S. Richardson
Released: Jan. 31, 2014

"Evocative setting but overwritten prose."
An abused young teenager deals with his mother's cancer while making new friends in this YA novel set in Somerville, Mass. Read full book review >