Search Results: "Penny Leinwander"


BOOK REVIEW

MURDER IN CONTAINMENT by Penny Leinwander
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"An entertaining, inventive mystery."
Bloodshed and political skullduggery roil a nuclear power plant in this absorbing thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY AND HER MARBLE by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"Another gem. (Early reader. 5-8)"
Whose marble is it? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY AND HER DOLL by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"A doll of a beginning reader. (Early reader. 5-7)"
Following Penny and Her Song (2012), Henkes delivers an even stronger slice of anthropomorphic mouse life for beginning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRAZY-PENNY by Ricky Taillefer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 26, 2015

"A quirky but barely comprehensible novel."
Taillefer tells the story of man whose lucky coin starts to talk in this debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HENNY PENNY by Vivian French
ADVENTURE
Released: July 1, 2006

"A welcome addition to the fairy-tale genre. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The traditional tale gets a new—and happier—ending in this clever retelling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY AND HER SONG by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"A charming, child-friendly take on the ever-popular new-baby theme. (Early reader. 3-8)"
Penny sings a joyful song that resonates in her happy mouse family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEASURING PENNY by Loreen Leedy
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1998

"Readers will be inspired to measure their own pets; it will be up to their pets, of course, to cooperate. (Picture book. 6-9)"
A terrific pedagogical idea from Leedy (Mission: Addition, 1997, etc.) that offers instruction and no small dose of delight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY DREADFUL by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

"The novel's theme of friendship will appeal to fans of The Penderwicks, The Mysterious Benedict Society and Hilary McKay's Casson Family books. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Not dreadful at all, this very pleasant book introduces rich, lonely ten-year-old Penelope Gray, who lives in a tightly controlled and boring world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY DREADFUL by Will Christopher Baer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 6, 2000

"Baer's over-the-top magic, however, will attract and lock in new members to his cult."
Please deposit four quarters to read the following, about a novel that bears bits of colored glass and has sex coming from it in waves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARY’S PENNY by Tanya Landman
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2010

"A sweet, artistic fable in the brains-over-brawn genre. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A grown-up girl ingeniously solves a puzzle, winning something she deserves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HENNY-PENNY by Jane Wattenberg
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2000

"Sure to evoke lots of giggling at story hour. (Picture book/folktale. 5-8)"
'Tis the season for sassy retellings of classic tales, as in Marjorie Priceman's Froggie Went A-Courting (see above). Read full book review >