Search Results: "Penny Weber"


BOOK REVIEW

UNPLUGGED by Laura Pedersen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 15, 2012

"A timely premise, but young readers who think that Ella's strategy will work for them are in for an unpleasant surprise. (Picture book. 6-8)"
In a flavorless alternative to Matthew Cordell's Hello! Hello! (2012), young Ella concocts a scheme to wean her distracted family from their digital devices. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY AND HER MARBLE by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"Another gem. (Early reader. 5-8)"
Whose marble is it? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY AND HER DOLL by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"A doll of a beginning reader. (Early reader. 5-7)"
Following Penny and Her Song (2012), Henkes delivers an even stronger slice of anthropomorphic mouse life for beginning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRAZY-PENNY by Ricky Taillefer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 26, 2015

"A quirky but barely comprehensible novel."
Taillefer tells the story of man whose lucky coin starts to talk in this debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HENNY PENNY by Vivian French
ADVENTURE
Released: July 1, 2006

"A welcome addition to the fairy-tale genre. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The traditional tale gets a new—and happier—ending in this clever retelling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALWAYS MOM, FOREVER DAD by Joanna Rowland
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 15, 2014

"It covers the basics but far too simplistically to be as persuasive as, for instance, Claire Masurel and Kady MacDonald Denton's Two Homes (2001) or Tamara Schmitz's Standing on My Own Two Feet (2008). (Picture book. 5-9)"
Straight-up bibliotherapy delivered by a composite narrator whose parents live apart. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE OF US by Peggy Moss
by Peggy Moss, illustrated by Penny Weber
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2010

"Made strictly for teaching, this is not a book that a child will pull off the shelf, but the story of a new student finding her place will lead to fine classroom discussions. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Roberta is new in school. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY AND HER SONG by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"A charming, child-friendly take on the ever-popular new-baby theme. (Early reader. 3-8)"
Penny sings a joyful song that resonates in her happy mouse family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WANDA'S BETTER WAY by Laura Pedersen
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 11, 2017

"Bright encouragement for young scientists and makers. (Picture book. 6-8)"
A child discovers that she has a special gift for spotting and solving engineering problems. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEASURING PENNY by Loreen Leedy
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1998

"Readers will be inspired to measure their own pets; it will be up to their pets, of course, to cooperate. (Picture book. 6-9)"
A terrific pedagogical idea from Leedy (Mission: Addition, 1997, etc.) that offers instruction and no small dose of delight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY DREADFUL by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

"The novel's theme of friendship will appeal to fans of The Penderwicks, The Mysterious Benedict Society and Hilary McKay's Casson Family books. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Not dreadful at all, this very pleasant book introduces rich, lonely ten-year-old Penelope Gray, who lives in a tightly controlled and boring world. Read full book review >