Search Results: "Pete Fornatale"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 26, 2013

"The Stones' dog-eared story is better told in a dozen other accounts."
A numbingly familiar look back at the Stones' 50-year career. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KLAATU TERMINUS by Pete Hautman
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: April 8, 2014

"Stories aren't required to provide answers to the big questions they raise about faith, choice, identity and responsibility, but these deserve better than to be dismissed with an uncaring shrug. (Science fiction. 12-18)"
A dazzlingly imaginative science-fiction trilogy, spanning the rise and fall of religions, civilizations and the human race itself, deflates into an oddly pedestrian conclusion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT BOYS REALLY WANT by Pete Hautman
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 1, 2012

"A title that ought to be as appealing as the book Adam publishes but isn't; Hautman is capable of far better. (Fiction. 13-17)"
High-school student Adam Merchant is writing a small volume on what boys and girls really want, an irresistible topic for his classmates. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RASH by Pete Hautman
FICTION
Released: June 1, 2006

"Bitingly funny and unexpectedly heartwarming, Bo's coming-of-age is a winner. (Science fiction. 13-15)"
In a cutting and comic gem, Bo Marsten is in trouble with the law: He's insulted a classmate, neglected to take his anti-anger medication and gone running without kneepad liners (required to prevent chafing). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MR. WAS by Pete Hautman
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 1, 1996

"More sophisticated readers, however, will find the realism refreshing and enjoy solving the conundrum of Jack's life. (Fiction. 12+)"
Hautman (for adults, The Mortal Nuts, p. 622, etc.) combines the elements of mystery, science fiction, and domestic violence in his compelling and unrelentingly grim first novel for teenagers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOLE IN THE SKY by Pete Hautman
FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"Hautman at his best. (Fiction. YA)"
The 1918 influenza outbreak killed 100 million people, but in 2028, the pandemic known simply as the Flu wiped out more than five billion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REAR VIEW by Pete Duval
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 28, 2004

"Still, an impressive start for this Bakeless Prize winner (2003) with a lean, efficient style and an understanding of the brutality of life on the economic margins."
Twelve stories, many set in New Bedford, in the tradition of Andre Dubus and Raymond Carver, illuminate the lives of working-class people with moments of rare beauty. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOKYO SKETCHES by Pete Hamill
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 1993

"Stylish rice-paper jottings, smeared by tears."
Thirteen stories by veteran Gothamite Hamill (Loving Women, 1989, etc.) about clashes between Japanese and American culture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DON'T NEED NOBODY by Pete Peters
Released: Feb. 6, 1936

"A fine debut by a talented writer."
Lost souls pedaling through post-modern America try fitfully to connect in this bleakly engrossing novel. Read full book review >