Search Results: "Peter Ho Davies"


BOOK REVIEW

EQUAL LOVE by Peter Ho Davies
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 17, 2000

EQUAL LOVEStoriesDavies, Peter Ho Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FORTUNES by Peter Ho Davies
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Davies' nuanced contemplation of how America has affected the Chinese (and vice versa) forces the reader to confront what is both singular and similar about all cross-cultural transactions."
A four-part suite of astute, lyrical, and often poignant stories poses incisive questions about what changes—and what does not—when people from another culture become Americans. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WELSH GIRL by Peter Ho Davies
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 12, 2007

"Not quite The English Patient, but a credible dramatization of a quality too seldom encountered in contemporary fiction: nobility."
An unlikely World War II romance is the subject of this ambitious first novel from the Welsh-Malaysian author of the story collections The Ugliest House in the World (1997) and Unequal Love (2000). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE UGLIEST HOUSE IN THE WORLD by Peter Ho Davies
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 9, 1997

"Still, overall, there's sufficient energy and originality here to suggest that Davies is a writer well worth watching."
A debut collection of short fictions, ingenious, moving, and exasperating in turn. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HO by David Halberstam
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 1971

"Those interested in a more intensive look at Ho's career must go back to Jean Lacouture's Ho Chi Minh (1968)."
"The higher he rose, the simpler and purer Ho seemed." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLICK, CLACK, HO! HO! HO! by Doreen Cronin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"An endearing story that will appeal to a wide age range, including preschoolers, new readers, and older kids who love the Click Clack crowd. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Cronin and Lewin are back with a Christmas story to add to their popular series starring the barnyard buddies from Click, Clack, Moo (2000) and its many successors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Dec. 1, 1995

"But Davies's many fans will find themselves well sated by the portraiture, the detail, and the richness shared here. (32 pages b&w photos)"
An amiable, discursive ramble through the several lives of Canada's octogenarian novelist. ``Sometimes I quake and grow pale, for it looks as if the Twilight Years, when I ought to be growing roses and sucking my dentures in peace, are going to be passed in back-breaking toil,'' once quipped the then 64-year-old author. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YO HO HO, HALLOWEEN! by Pam Muñoz Ryan
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 28, 2016

"It is oh-so-easy for readers to get caught up in both Tony's infectious excitement and his terrible woes; this should be necessary reading before making costume decisions. (Early reader. 5-8)"
Ryan and Fotheringham once again nail the early-elementary mindset, this time looking at Halloween costumes through Tony Baloney's eyes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETER by Kate Walker
FICTION
Released: April 1, 1993

"David, a wiser head, comfortable with his preference, one who can offer physical affection without sexual overtones; and, in Peter, a realistically distressed teenager who is finally able to muster enough perspective to weather his crisis. (Fiction. YA)"
When he finds himself attracted to his older brother's gay friend David, Peter is plunged into the kind of sexual uncertainty many young men feel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

Back for a third adventure, anxious Alvin Ho faces such terrifying scenarios as a class visit to the houses of famous deceased authors in his Concord, Mass., hometown and negotiating the particulars of being invited to a girl's birthday party, even as he yearns to be invited to the shindig of another (male) classmate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: July 8, 2008

"A witty glossary and Pham's simple yet expressive line drawings perfectly complement this appealing story about the refreshingly original, endearing Alvin. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Bright, energetic Alvin Ho is about to enter the second grade. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"A fresh entry in what is overall an exceedingly enjoyable series; readers will cheer this latest. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Nervous second-grader Alvin Ho digs deep to find the bravery to attend a funeral in this playful and poignant fourth offering in the series. Read full book review >