Search Results: "Peter Ho Davies"


BOOK REVIEW

THE WELSH GIRL by Peter Ho Davies
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 12, 2007

"Not quite The English Patient, but a credible dramatization of a quality too seldom encountered in contemporary fiction: nobility."
An unlikely World War II romance is the subject of this ambitious first novel from the Welsh-Malaysian author of the story collections The Ugliest House in the World (1997) and Unequal Love (2000). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FORTUNES by Peter Ho Davies
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Davies' nuanced contemplation of how America has affected the Chinese (and vice versa) forces the reader to confront what is both singular and similar about all cross-cultural transactions."
A four-part suite of astute, lyrical, and often poignant stories poses incisive questions about what changes—and what does not—when people from another culture become Americans. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EQUAL LOVE by Peter Ho Davies
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 17, 2000

EQUAL LOVEStoriesDavies, Peter Ho Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE UGLIEST HOUSE IN THE WORLD by Peter Ho Davies
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 9, 1997

"Still, overall, there's sufficient energy and originality here to suggest that Davies is a writer well worth watching."
A debut collection of short fictions, ingenious, moving, and exasperating in turn. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GUESS WHO? by Jannie Ho
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 25, 2013

"Children old enough not to be frightened by masks should get a kick out of this. (Board book. 2-4)"
With die-cut holes for eyes and handles, readers can hold this board book, in its open state, up to their faces to create a variety of costumed personas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE BUBBA LOOKS FOR HIS ELEPHANT by Jannie Ho
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"Sturdy, engaging fun. (Board book. 1-3)"
This Tiny Tab book offers toddlers a playful interactive game of hide-and-seek with substantial, oversized tabs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GATHERING THE DEW by Minfong Ho
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2003

"The author takes on this shocking slice of world history with the appropriate amount of detail and sensitivity for a young audience, but the difficult subject matter makes it better suited for more mature readers. (Fiction. 11-15)"
In this historical first-person narrative, Nakri Sokha, a 12-year-old girl living in the Cambodian capital of Phnom Penh in 1975, has her world shattered overnight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEAR AND CHICKEN by Jannie Ho
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 14, 2017

"A sweet tale of expectations upended. (Picture book. 3-6)"
When Bear says he's having chicken for lunch, what exactly does he mean? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CLAY MARBLE by Minfong Ho
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1991

"Touching, authentic, carefully wrought- -and with an unusually appealing jacket. (Fiction. 11-15)"
Drawing on her experience with a relief organization on the Thai border, Ho tells the story of a Cambodian family, fleeing the rival factions of the 80's while hoping to gather resources to return to farming in their homeland. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 14, 2010

"A beautifully designed book that combines Ho's sulfur diet suggestions with medical science, and offers plenty of recipes for readers to add to their cooking repertoire."
Ho's (Eat Your Way to Lighter Skin, 2008) new diet cookbook presents recipes designed to improve health and the vitality of the skin. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PETER WATSON
by Gregory McNamee

Five hundred-odd years ago, in the time of Leonardo da Vinci, a scientist—a term then unknown—was a person of many parts, someone who might work in fields ranging from chemistry to botany, astronomy to metallurgy, to divine the hidden order of the universe.

Even as recently as the early Victorian idea, writes British science historian Peter Watson in his new ...


Read the full post >