Search Results: "Peter Kuper"


BOOK REVIEW

THEO AND THE BLUE NOTE by Peter Kuper
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"A slight but serendipitous odyssey that owes its props to Chris Raschka's Charlie Parker Played Be Bop (1992). (Picture book. 5-9)"
A jazz cat with a limited repertoire finds his musical groove via a magical journey. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPEECHLESS by Peter Kuper
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2001

"Kuper's generically left politics sometimes dull his arresting images, but his stylistic inventiveness and sophistication make this an essential collection for students of graphic narrative and design."
Collecting work from the entire career, beginning back in the mid-1980s, of illustrator, cartoonist, and narrative artist Kuper (Mind's Eye, 2000, etc.), this full-color anthology displays a range and richness of design that places him among the best graphic artists of his time: innovative, insightful, and always compelling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIND’S EYE by Peter Kuper
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"Kuper's black-heavy style, best used in his narrative work, here deadens jokes that need air and light: he's a great talent who hasn't yet found a subject suited to his style."
A regular contributor to magazines as diverse as Time and Mad, Kuper collects a second batch of his "Eye of the Beholder" cartoons, all in the same basic pattern: "four panels of clues to guess which point of view your eyes are following." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUNGER AND THIRST by Daniela Kuper
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"A little too heartfelt for its own good: Kuper's story suffers badly from plodding along too slowly, too obsessively, and from not really going anywhere in the end."
An impressionistic yet hardly fleet-footed debut about a Jewish girl coming of age in the '50s. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 11, 2012

"A footnote to history, to be sure, but a fascinating one."
Were the Dutch a nation of heroes of World War II resistance, as they like to claim? Paris-based Financial Times columnist Kuper (The Football Men: Up Close with the Giants of the Modern Game, 2011, etc.) rains on the liberation parade by suggesting that the right answer is, not quite. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANOMALY by Tonya Kuper
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"Sweet teen reading for fans of X-Men, Star Trek and all things geeky."
This teen sci-fi debut features a nerdy heroine who can add and subtract objects from reality. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PETER WATSON
by Gregory McNamee

Five hundred-odd years ago, in the time of Leonardo da Vinci, a scientist—a term then unknown—was a person of many parts, someone who might work in fields ranging from chemistry to botany, astronomy to metallurgy, to divine the hidden order of the universe.

Even as recently as the early Victorian idea, writes British science historian Peter Watson in his new ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

JESSICA'S BOX by Peter Carnavas
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2015

"The message is clear: Just be yourself, and friends will come. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A little girl who is new to school uses a cardboard box to make friends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HUNGRIEST MOUTH IN THE SEA by Peter Walters
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 10, 2015

"An excellent addition to classroom, library, or personal nature collections. (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
Who knew the food chain would make for such a jaunty rhyme? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHILDREN WHO LOVED BOOKS by Peter Carnavas
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"The catchy cover of this Australian import nicely sets up the warm and loving story within. (Picture book. 4-7)"
The phrase "there's no such thing as too many books" sums up this whimsical story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JEREMY DRAWS A MONSTER by Peter McCarty
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"Neat and unassuming. (Picture book. 3-6)"
With simplicity and quiet depth, a boy creates a challenge and meets it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KITTEN RED, YELLOW, BLUE by Peter Catalanotto
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"1983, 1992) and its myriad cousins will love the expanded range of color choices here. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Named for colors in a box of crayons, 16 kittens pair off with as many community workers and residents in this ingenious cousin to Matthew A.B.C. (2002) and Daisy 1, 2, 3 (2003). Read full book review >