Search Results: "Peter Lerangis"


BOOK REVIEW

THE TOMB OF SHADOWS by Peter Lerangis
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 13, 2014

"An exciting-enough excursion into a world full of wonders. (Adventure. 8-12)"
The Seven Wonders series continues as Jack McKinley and his friends try to save themselves and, while they're at it, the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE COLOSSUS RISES by Peter Lerangis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 5, 2013

"Fans of Riordan, Rowling, and ancient myths and legends will welcome this new, if derivative opportunity for adventure and enchantment. (Fiction. 8-14)"
The Seven Wonders series debuts with a bang: 13-year-old Jack McKinley will die unless he can locate the magic Loculi containing the ancient powers of Atlantis. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SMILER’S BONES by Peter Lerangis
FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"Though Lerangis's narrative of shifting time frames and perspectives precludes mounting tension and escalating drama, it's a compelling and important story nevertheless. (author's note, bibliography) (Historical fiction. 11+)"
In 1897, explorer Robert Peary brought six Eskimos from their home in Greenland and put them on display at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WTF by Peter Lerangis
FICTION
Released: Nov. 10, 2009

"A miss. (Fiction. YA)"
Their party plans derailed after their car hits a deer, Jimmy and Byron leave their friend Cam for dead (he's not, really) in the driver's seat only to find themselves headed back into New York to hit up an exclusive nightclub with gatecrasher MC tagging along. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 7, 2012

"As illuminating as a hand grenade, and just as powerful. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Ben Bright's senior year seems a prelude to a gloriously successful life, with college, loving girlfriend and an acting career spread out in front of him. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PETER WATSON
by Gregory McNamee

Five hundred-odd years ago, in the time of Leonardo da Vinci, a scientist—a term then unknown—was a person of many parts, someone who might work in fields ranging from chemistry to botany, astronomy to metallurgy, to divine the hidden order of the universe.

Even as recently as the early Victorian idea, writes British science historian Peter Watson in his new ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

PETLANDIA by Peter Hannan
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 28, 2015

"Nick Bruel's books about Bad Kitty and Puppy are far better treatments of the theme than this tired outing. (Humor. 6-9)"
Petlandia: utopia or P-U-topia? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOY ON THE PAGE by Peter Carnavas
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"The impressive kindness of the art has its own power and could make it work—the ambiguity inherent in this sort of question does not guarantee success. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A picture-book allegory about life and, to some extent, love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MR. TIGER GOES WILD by Peter Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Hooray for Mr. Tiger and his wild ways! (Picture book. 3-7)"
There's a lot to go wild for in this picture-book celebration of individuality and self-expression. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MONSTER RETURNS by Peter McCarty
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 31, 2012

"It might lack the mild menace of its predecessor, but it satisfies in its supply of companionship all around. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Jeremy hatches a plan to cope with his monster's unexpected return. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FREDDY! KING OF FLURB by Peter Hannan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Useful, if not for every reader. (Science fiction/humor. 6-10)"
Freddy will be the first to say he screws things up…well, not the first—that would be Babette, his evil older sister. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WALL by Peter Sís
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Sept. 4, 2007

"A masterpiece for readers young and old. (afterword) (Nonfiction. 8+)"
Sís has loved to draw for as long as he can remember, and this work tells the parallel stories of his early years drawing and the rise and fall of communism in Czechoslovakia. Read full book review >