Search Results: "Peter Lerangis"


BOOK REVIEW

THE TOMB OF SHADOWS by Peter Lerangis
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 13, 2014

"An exciting-enough excursion into a world full of wonders. (Adventure. 8-12)"
The Seven Wonders series continues as Jack McKinley and his friends try to save themselves and, while they're at it, the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE COLOSSUS RISES by Peter Lerangis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 5, 2013

"Fans of Riordan, Rowling, and ancient myths and legends will welcome this new, if derivative opportunity for adventure and enchantment. (Fiction. 8-14)"
The Seven Wonders series debuts with a bang: 13-year-old Jack McKinley will die unless he can locate the magic Loculi containing the ancient powers of Atlantis. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SMILER’S BONES by Peter Lerangis
FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"Though Lerangis's narrative of shifting time frames and perspectives precludes mounting tension and escalating drama, it's a compelling and important story nevertheless. (author's note, bibliography) (Historical fiction. 11+)"
In 1897, explorer Robert Peary brought six Eskimos from their home in Greenland and put them on display at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WTF by Peter Lerangis
FICTION
Released: Nov. 10, 2009

"A miss. (Fiction. YA)"
Their party plans derailed after their car hits a deer, Jimmy and Byron leave their friend Cam for dead (he's not, really) in the driver's seat only to find themselves headed back into New York to hit up an exclusive nightclub with gatecrasher MC tagging along. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 7, 2012

"As illuminating as a hand grenade, and just as powerful. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Ben Bright's senior year seems a prelude to a gloriously successful life, with college, loving girlfriend and an acting career spread out in front of him. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PETER WATSON
by Gregory McNamee

Five hundred-odd years ago, in the time of Leonardo da Vinci, a scientist—a term then unknown—was a person of many parts, someone who might work in fields ranging from chemistry to botany, astronomy to metallurgy, to divine the hidden order of the universe.

Even as recently as the early Victorian idea, writes British science historian Peter Watson in his new ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ICE CREAM SUMMER by Peter Sís
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 26, 2015

"Oh, yum. (author's note, further reading) (Picture book. 4-10)"
In ice cream colors, Sís delivers an encomium to summer, to the power of learning, and to that beloved, creamy-cold treat. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: May 27, 2014

"Extraordinary and wonderful. (Picture book/biography. 6-12)"
What was essential about one golden-haired boy in love with flying becomes visible in Sís' richly visual biographical portrait of French writer and aviator Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRST SNOW by Peter McCarty
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 31, 2014

"Children will easily identify with Pedro's hesitation as well as his triumph over his fears, while the subtle patience and acceptance offered by the other youngsters provides a nice balance. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Why does everyone seem to love snow? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONKEY & ROBOT by Peter Catalonotto
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 29, 2013

"A fun-filled view of a warm, unlikely friendship. (Fiction. 5-8)"
A really odd couple of friends shares fun and adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FALL BALL by Peter McCarty
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"A likable ode to the perennial pleasures of autumn and friends. (Picture book. 2-5)"
McCarty distills a crisp essence of late fall into a few familiar images: a bouncy ride home on the school bus, an impromptu game of football (the American kind) amid piles of leaves, the first flakes of snow in early dusk and the cozy warmth of the house after play. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TWIN TROUBLE by Peter Bently
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"National Geographic, known for its nonfiction publishing, provides little information to tots in this slight tale. (Board book. 2-4)"
Two bear cubs get themselves in a jam in this ineffective lift-the-flap story. Read full book review >