Search Results: "Peter Robinson"


BOOK REVIEW

SLEEPING IN THE GROUND by Peter Robinson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 15, 2017

"Robinson's interrogations, many of them conducted in pubs, have the rare quality of steadily illuminating and thickening both the speakers and their subjects. The result is a slow-burning intensity that deepens from beginning to end."
DS Alan Banks is snapped out of mourning his long-ago first love by a particularly nasty murder spree that interrupts the nuptials at St. Mary's Church. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BAD BOY by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 24, 2010

"A lightweight but entertaining outing."
Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks returns from a reflective U.S. vacation to contend with the abduction of his daughter and the shooting of his female partner. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN THE DARK PLACES by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 11, 2015

"Too diffuse in both its crimes and its coppers to rank among Robinson's finest work (Children of the Revolution, 2014, etc.). But if malfeasance in Yorkshire is what you crave, you won't hesitate, and you won't go wrong."
A case no one in Eastvale HQ wants to work—a gentleman farmer's stolen tractor—leads to all the homicidal twists and turns beloved of Robinson's many fans. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AFTERMATH by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 9, 2001

"But Robinson's canvas is as admirably broad and his insight into character and motive as keen as ever."
It looks like a routine domestic call for Probationary Police Constable Janet Taylor and her partner Dennis Morrisey. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DEDICATED MAN by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 1, 1991

"A tidy, articulate, well-observed sample of the current retro- Thirties British school—there's even a superfluous map of Swainsdale- -that carries you along on a rising tide of suppressed passion to the uninspired denouement."
Who killed workaholic industrial archeologist/local historian Harry Steadman of Swainsdale and carted his body off to be buried near a crumbling wall? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAST REASON HATED by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 2, 1993

"The final revelation, unfortunately, isn't up to what comes before: a steady, cleareyed revelation of Caroline's personality, combined with piercing insight into an unusually generous circle of suspects."
Brand-new Detective Constant Susan Gay rousts Yorkshire Chief Inspector Alan Banks (The Hanging Valley, etc.) from a wedding party for departing Sgt. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRIEND OF THE DEVIL by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 2, 2008

"As usual with Robinson, the characters are beautifully drawn, the frequent conflicts sharply etched and the soundtrack of pop tunes ubiquitous. The resolution to both cases seems almost beside the point."
A pair of Mother's Day homicides seem equally sinister—until one of them takes DCI Alan Banks and his squad (Piece of My Heart, 2006, etc.) back to an even more horrifying series of past crimes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL THE COLORS OF DARKNESS by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 1, 2009

"The much-honored Robinson (Friend of the Devil, 2008, etc.) revisits a concept even Agatha Christie, in one of her last novels, couldn't bring to life. Despite his far more subtle and powerful psychological insight, he doesn't pull it off either."
What looks like a routine murder-suicide turns into a nerve-wracking case for DCI Alan Banks and DI Annie Cabbot. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLD IS THE GRAVE by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 2, 2000

"The result is mystery-mongering at once as sensitive and grandly scaled as P.D. James's."
Fresh from his plunge into the murky waters of history (In a Dry Season, 1999), Robinson proves that present-day England can be equally enigmatic and equally disturbing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WEDNESDAY'S CHILD by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 1, 1994

"Expert lesser work from Robinson (Past Reason Hated, 1993, etc.): an unsurprising but thoroughly accomplished British procedural that puts its lowlife denizens through their paces with all the withering mastery of a lion tamer."
There's precious little time for Yorkshire Inspector Alan Banks's worries about his distant wife or teenage daughter; he's hot on the trail of the couple, plausibly masquerading as social workers, who took 7-year-old Gemma Scupham away from her slatternly mother. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HANGING VALLEY by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 7, 1992

"Highly recommended, especially for fans of Ruth Rendell and Reginald Hill, who'll appreciate the counterpoint of bucolic Yorkshire placidity and turbulent currents beneath."
A nameless corpse found in a valley outside Swainshead leads DCI Alan Banks (A Necessary End, etc.) far afield in time and space—to Leeds and Toronto, and finally to Oxford to reopen the investigation of two unsolved murders going back over five years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIECE OF MY HEART by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2006

"What is more satisfying than one solid Robinson mystery? Two solid Robinson mysteries, expertly entwined, offering twice the usual pleasures."
Two murders, 36 years apart, turn out to be linked in the latest Inspector Banks case from Robinson (Strange Affair, 2005, etc.). Read full book review >