Search Results: "Peter Robinson"


BOOK REVIEW

BAD BOY by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 24, 2010

"A lightweight but entertaining outing."
Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks returns from a reflective U.S. vacation to contend with the abduction of his daughter and the shooting of his female partner. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 14, 1994

"Not the ultimate B-school survival guide, but a genial description of everything about getting an MBA that you wanted to know but were afraid to find out. (Author tour)"
A funny and frenetic account of Robinson's crucial first year in Stanford's MBA program, offering an education in itself as well as a cautionary tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INNOCENT GRAVES by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 1, 1996

"A standout performance from one of the last and finest masters of the understated British procedural, with plenty of passion to understate."
Yorkshire Chief Inspector Alan Banks's eighth case (Final Account, 1995, etc.) is a particularly sad affair: the strangling of Deborah Harrison, a choirgirl who liked chess and horses, in St. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN A DRY SEASON by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 1, 1999

"For all his troubles at home, this is Banks's finest hour. (Author tour)"
Estranged from his carping wife, and still in the doghouse with petty Chief Constable Jeremiah Riddle after his freelance investigations in Blood at the Root (1997), Eastvale's Chief Inspector Alan Banks doesn't expect much good news—and his worst fears seem confirmed when Jimmy Riddle packs him off to Harksmere, where a drought and an inquisitive boy have combined to reveal a 50-year-old corpse under the rotting floor of a building no longer submerged in the parched Thornfield Reservoir. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A NECESSARY END by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 1, 1992

"Fans of British procedurals should get to know this appealing series."
When the crowd recedes from an anti-nuke rally in quiet Eastvale, crowd-controlling P.C. Edwin Gill lies dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WATCHING THE DARK by Peter Robinson
Released: Jan. 8, 2013

"The tale unfolds realistically but uncompellingly, with Banks the only truly memorable character this time around."
The death of a fellow officer sends DCI Alan Banks (Bad Boy, 2010, etc.) looking for secrets in every corner of Eastvale and eventually as far afield as Estonia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DEDICATED MAN by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 1, 1991

"A tidy, articulate, well-observed sample of the current retro- Thirties British school—there's even a superfluous map of Swainsdale- -that carries you along on a rising tide of suppressed passion to the uninspired denouement."
Who killed workaholic industrial archeologist/local historian Harry Steadman of Swainsdale and carted his body off to be buried near a crumbling wall? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIECE OF MY HEART by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2006

"What is more satisfying than one solid Robinson mystery? Two solid Robinson mysteries, expertly entwined, offering twice the usual pleasures."
Two murders, 36 years apart, turn out to be linked in the latest Inspector Banks case from Robinson (Strange Affair, 2005, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HANGING VALLEY by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 7, 1992

"Highly recommended, especially for fans of Ruth Rendell and Reginald Hill, who'll appreciate the counterpoint of bucolic Yorkshire placidity and turbulent currents beneath."
A nameless corpse found in a valley outside Swainshead leads DCI Alan Banks (A Necessary End, etc.) far afield in time and space—to Leeds and Toronto, and finally to Oxford to reopen the investigation of two unsolved murders going back over five years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAST REASON HATED by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 2, 1993

"The final revelation, unfortunately, isn't up to what comes before: a steady, cleareyed revelation of Caroline's personality, combined with piercing insight into an unusually generous circle of suspects."
Brand-new Detective Constant Susan Gay rousts Yorkshire Chief Inspector Alan Banks (The Hanging Valley, etc.) from a wedding party for departing Sgt. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLD IS THE GRAVE by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 2, 2000

"The result is mystery-mongering at once as sensitive and grandly scaled as P.D. James's."
Fresh from his plunge into the murky waters of history (In a Dry Season, 1999), Robinson proves that present-day England can be equally enigmatic and equally disturbing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLOOD AT THE ROOT by Peter Robinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 1, 1997

"Though the unending whirl of soap-opera romance in Banks's life can wear thin, his ninth procedural (Innocent Graves, 1996, etc.) is abrim with racial tension, patient detective work, and the hero's appealing decency."
It looks like a common enough kind of crime: Outspoken young racist Jason Fox has been beaten and kicked to death in an alley on the way home from the pub where he insulted a trio of Pakistanis. Read full book review >