Search Results: "Petra Brown"


BOOK REVIEW

OLD MACDONALD by Petra Brown
illustrated by Petra Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2015

"A warm introduction to an old favorite. (Board book. 1-3)"
The American classic is presented with some cuddly illustrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRANDMA'S CHRISTMAS WISH by Helen Foster James
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Perhaps a little too sweet in tone for some, but most grandmas would love to read this to a grandchild. (Picture book. 2-4)"
A gray grandma bunny expresses her love for her little bunny grandbaby in this sweetly sentimental sequel to Grandma Loves You! (2013). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I WILL KEEP YOU SAFE AND SOUND by Lori Haskins Houran
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"Though well-intentioned and decently executed, nothing new or exciting lies within. (Picture book. 1-4)"
Spare text in rhyming couplets and a soothing refrain provide young readers with a cozy glimpse of animal babies and their parents enjoying their natural habitats. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRANDMA LOVES YOU! by Helen Foster James
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2013

"An unabashedly idealized but nevertheless wholehearted hymn to grandmotherhood (Picture book. 2-4)"
The arrival of a new grandchild is joyously celebrated in this grandmotherly ode to their new life together. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RAGS, HERO DOG OF WWI by Margo Theis Raven
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2014

"Young readers interested in dog or wartime stories will find Rags an appealing hero. (Picture book. 6-9)"
A scrawny mutt is rescued in Paris by an American soldier during WWI, and the smart, intuitive Rags becomes a wartime hero. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN THE WIND BLEW by Petra Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 15, 2017

"Gently shows how forest devastation (even when due to natural causes) affects many creatures large and small. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A young bear cub learns what truly makes a home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARGUERITE'S FOUNTAIN by Rachel Elliot
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 4, 2016

"A classic, traditional tale of heroine, villain, and hero—perhaps too traditional. (Picture book. 4-7)"
In this British picture-book melodrama, a dancing mouse named Marguerite is bullied by the rat Randolph and eventually rescued by the shy but heroic mouse Benjamin. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRANDPA LOVES YOU! by Helen Foster James
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 15, 2016

"A beloved grandparent gift purchase to be sure but also a toddler-friendly inclusion to an intergenerational storytime. (Picture book. 2-4)"
A grandfather rabbit celebrates the birth of a new baby bunny and recounts the many adventures they will have. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOMMY LOVES YOU by Helen Foster James
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 5, 2017

"In the end, this joins the crowded ranks of cute books in verse vying for new mothers' attention and doesn't really stand out. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Following titles dedicated to grandmas and grandpas, the author-illustrator duo tackles mothers. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LOVE IS IN THE AIR - #RITAGH
by Bobbi Dumas

It’s an exciting week in the romance world! On Tuesday, RWA announced the finalists in the RITA and Golden Heart contests. (You can find the full list here.)

For those of you who may not know, the Golden Heart is Romance Writers of America’s contest for unpublished authors.

Some of my favorite authors and friends of Read-A-Romance made the RITA ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK GHOST FILE
by Julie Danielson

Over at NPR last week, I heard a pop culture critic talk (here) about what he calls his Ghost File, or the books, television shows, and movies he didn’t review during the year. “[I]t's the great frustration,” he said, “that every year I'm haunted by all the terrific things I haven't talked about … ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

IN FULL FLIGHT WITH GREG PIZZOLI
by Julie Danielson

The start of a new year is always exciting for readers. We envision brand-spankin’-new books from our favorite authors and new artwork from illustrators whose work we love to see. Look past our shoulders and you’ll see crossed fingers that our favorite writers and artists have something in store for us.

Most surprising of all is when we get ...


Read the full post >