Search Results: "Philip Jenkins"


BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT AND HOLY WAR by Philip Jenkins
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2014

"A work of intensely nuanced research."
A painstaking, densely layered study of the many slippery uses of religion in the making of war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 13, 2015

"A worthy broadside aimed at revisionist Christian historians that provides a sorely needed counterpoint to the prevailing and largely unquestioned conventional wisdom regarding early Christian history."
Jenkins (History, Institute for the Studies of Religion/Baylor Univ.; The Great and Holy War: How World War I Became a Religious Crusade, 2014, etc.) attacks the current mainstream view of church history, which posits the disappearance of competing Christian literature due to early repression by the established orthodoxy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

"Complex material ably digested for the lay reader."
Deeply erudite, sure-to-be-controversial history of the persecution of Christian churches throughout the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 2000

"A fresh and thoughtful analysis that sheds much-needed light on an often overheated phenomenon."
A fascinating look at the importance of the religious fringe in American life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 19, 2017

"A well-written, intriguing account of the centuries that set the stage for modern Judaism, the Christianity taught by Paul, and, eventually, Islam as an heir to both."
An exploration of an underrated era and its effect on religious history. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

BEVERLY JENKINS
by Poornima Apte

If Beverly Jenkins had her way, her novels would have many more history nuggets than they do. But then, she says, she has to remind herself that she is writing romance, not a history book. The veteran award-winning writer of African-American historical fiction novels has dozens of books under her belt and knows it’s a fine line to walk between ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A SEASON OF CHANGE
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

As some of you know, I was in DC this past week for my father-in-law’s funeral.

I lived in the DC area for twenty years before we moved to Wisconsin 11 years ago, so my husband—who hadn’t been back in ten years (I was there for a quick trip in 2014 for a conference, but didn’t have time ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BEETLE BOOK by Steve Jenkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2012

"Otherwise, distinguished both as natural history and work of art. (Nonfiction. 7-12)"
Jenkins' splendid array of beetles will surely produce at least one budding coleopterist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALMOST GONE by Steve Jenkins
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2006

This new entry in the Let's-Read-and-Find-Out series features some 20 animals that face extinction, along with a couple of handfuls that represent actually extinct species and some that are fighting back, illustrated with Jenkins's trademark textured collages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ANIMAL BOOK by Steve Jenkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 29, 2013

"With facts sure to delight readers—who will be impatient to share their discoveries—this spectacular book is a must-purchase for animal-loving families and most libraries. (glossary, bibliography) (Nonfiction. 5 & up)"
Building on years of experience in selecting animal facts and creating arresting illustrations, Jenkins surpasses his previous work with an amazing album characterized by clear organization, realistic images and carefully chosen examples. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

APEX PREDATORS by Steve Jenkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 6, 2017

"No red—but lots of tooth and claw on display. (Informational picture book. 6-9)"
Face-to-face introductions to over two dozen creatures it would be better to avoid. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JANUARY ROMANCE
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi romance friends!

It’s the last week of January (quite a month in every arena, at least in the Dumas home), so I thought I’d check in with my reviewer friends!

Last November you may recall I had weekly “Best of 2016” posts with PJ Ausdenmore, Scandie from Scandalicious, librarian Lynn Wall, and SOS Aloha.

I touched base with them ...


Read the full post >