Search Results: "Pierce Brown"


BOOK REVIEW

GOLDEN SON by Pierce Brown
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Jan. 6, 2015

"Comparisons to The Hunger Games and Game of Thrones series are inevitable, for this tale has elements of both—fantasy, the future and quasi-historicism."
Brown presents the second installment of his epic science-fiction trilogy, and like the first (Red Rising, 2014), it's chock-full of interpersonal tension, class conflict and violence.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MORNING STAR by Pierce Brown
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Feb. 9, 2016

"An ambitious and satisfying conclusion to a monumental saga."
Brown completes his science-fiction trilogy with another intricately plotted and densely populated tome, this one continuing the focus on a rebellion against the imperious Golds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RED RISING by Pierce Brown
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"A fine novel for those who like to immerse themselves in alternative worlds."
Set in the future and reminiscent of The Hunger Games and Game of Thrones, this novel dramatizes a story of vengeance, warfare and the quest for power. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LOVE IS IN THE AIR - #RITAGH
by Bobbi Dumas

It’s an exciting week in the romance world! On Tuesday, RWA announced the finalists in the RITA and Golden Heart contests. (You can find the full list here.)

For those of you who may not know, the Golden Heart is Romance Writers of America’s contest for unpublished authors.

Some of my favorite authors and friends of Read-A-Romance made the RITA ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK GHOST FILE
by Julie Danielson

Over at NPR last week, I heard a pop culture critic talk (here) about what he calls his Ghost File, or the books, television shows, and movies he didn’t review during the year. “[I]t's the great frustration,” he said, “that every year I'm haunted by all the terrific things I haven't talked about … ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

IN FULL FLIGHT WITH GREG PIZZOLI
by Julie Danielson

The start of a new year is always exciting for readers. We envision brand-spankin’-new books from our favorite authors and new artwork from illustrators whose work we love to see. Look past our shoulders and you’ll see crossed fingers that our favorite writers and artists have something in store for us.

Most surprising of all is when we get ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

DID YOU KNOW THAT I LOVE YOU? by Christa Pierce
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 23, 2014

"An overlong greeting card. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Debut author/illustrator Pierce matches a litany of loving expressions to illustrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLOODHOUND by Tamora Pierce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 28, 2009

"After all, the detail-oriented, plodding movement of the story—much like Beka's own method—builds to a well-established, satisfying revelation. (Fantasy. 11-14)"
In this second volume in Pierce's historical Tortall trilogy, Beka Cooper is now a junior Dog (police officer) in the Corus slums. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLD FIRE by Tamora Pierce
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2001

"An absolute must for fans of the series, the minimal backstory also makes this an exciting and thoughtful stand-alone fantasy. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Pierce turns somber in her saga of young mages-in-training (Street Magic, 2000, etc.), as the smith-mage Daja encounters a more sinister side to fire—and humanity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WOLF-SPEAKER by Tamora Pierce
FANTASY
Released: April 1, 1994

"Fantasy fodder, but only for the famished. (Fiction. 10+)"
Pierce continues the story of Daine and her mentor Numair (Wild Magic, 1992). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 18, 2010

"An impassioned 'wakeup call' for reform of the bureaucracies of the United Nations that would have benefited from clearer writing and structure and a more personal view of life as a UN diplomat."
A former diplomat's report on how corruption has permeated the United Nations and what can be done about it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Parenting Without Distraction by Craig Pierce
Released: Feb. 8, 2013

"Reminds parents that much of their power and influence resides in listening and paying attention."
Pierce's guide for teaching parents how to manage their own and their children's daily distractions. Read full book review >