Search Results: "Pin Ho"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 2, 2013

"Because the names, titles and governmental forms will be unfamiliar to most Western readers, the narrative can feel like tough going at times, but the authors weave a fascinating, dark narrative web."
A true-crime murder mystery from 2011 set in a remote Chinese city, with an outsized impact on governance of the vast nation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HO by David Halberstam
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 1971

"Those interested in a more intensive look at Ho's career must go back to Jean Lacouture's Ho Chi Minh (1968)."
"The higher he rose, the simpler and purer Ho seemed." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLICK, CLACK, HO! HO! HO! by Doreen Cronin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"An endearing story that will appeal to a wide age range, including preschoolers, new readers, and older kids who love the Click Clack crowd. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Cronin and Lewin are back with a Christmas story to add to their popular series starring the barnyard buddies from Click, Clack, Moo (2000) and its many successors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YO HO HO, HALLOWEEN! by Pam Muñoz Ryan
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 28, 2016

"It is oh-so-easy for readers to get caught up in both Tony's infectious excitement and his terrible woes; this should be necessary reading before making costume decisions. (Early reader. 5-8)"
Ryan and Fotheringham once again nail the early-elementary mindset, this time looking at Halloween costumes through Tony Baloney's eyes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 4, 2014

"Who knew bowling alleys could tell such entertaining stories?"
A hard-boiled and often funny look at the hustlers, thugs and characters of the 1960s New York bowling underworld. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

Back for a third adventure, anxious Alvin Ho faces such terrifying scenarios as a class visit to the houses of famous deceased authors in his Concord, Mass., hometown and negotiating the particulars of being invited to a girl's birthday party, even as he yearns to be invited to the shindig of another (male) classmate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: July 8, 2008

"A witty glossary and Pham's simple yet expressive line drawings perfectly complement this appealing story about the refreshingly original, endearing Alvin. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Bright, energetic Alvin Ho is about to enter the second grade. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"A fresh entry in what is overall an exceedingly enjoyable series; readers will cheer this latest. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Nervous second-grader Alvin Ho digs deep to find the bravery to attend a funeral in this playful and poignant fourth offering in the series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURE
Released: April 1, 2005

"An abundance of maps and illustrations, cartoons and portraits contributes to a handsome volume excellent for research or browsing. (introduction, note to the reader, index) (Nonfiction. 10+)"
In the midst of the current Lewis and Clark bicentennial, young readers may get the idea that Lewis and Clark were the only early explorers of the American continent. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

QUEEN PIN by Jemeker Thompson-Hairston
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 22, 2010

"Too shallow to satisfy as a memoir, but may appeal to believers."
One woman's testimonial of her journey from willful child to drug lord to servant of God. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HO-HO HOMICIDE by Corinne Holt Sawyer
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 18, 1995

"Martinez that leaves his helpers, still chirping, to patiently wait for the next interminable coffee klatch."
Yet another tedious go-round with the pair of in-house, would- be sleuths at Camden-sur-Mer, a retirement home in southern California (Murder Has No Calories, 1994, etc.). Read full book review >