Search Results: "Piper Maitland"


BOOK REVIEW

HUNTING DAYLIGHT by Piper Maitland
Released: Feb. 5, 2013

"Above the common run of vampire fiction, but not all that it could be."
Half-vampire Carol Barrett faces familiar-seeming perils as well as romance in the second of a series of paranormal thrillers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AND LIFE REMAINS by Adam Piper
Released: Sept. 10, 2008

"Earnest and literal, Piper's heart is on his sleeve."
In his first volume of poetry, Piper covers a wide swath of emotional and philosophical territory, documenting his thoughts and feelings along the way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PRICE OF THIRST by Karen Piper
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 15, 2014

"Piper's report makes for anxious yet informative reading."
Piper (English and Geography/Univ. of Missouri; Left in the Dust: How Race and Politics Created a Human and Environmental Tragedy in L.A., 2006, etc.) introduces us to a brave new world in which drought is a prime business opportunity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INTO THE EXPERIMENT by Rory Piper
Released: May 5, 2012

"A predictable thriller with a high body count, uneven character development and a victorious romance."
Piper's debut novel provides a modern twist on the Frankenstein trope of a man who creates a monster. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Cinnamon Diamonds by Mark Piper
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 17, 2016

"An entertaining, well-written tale, but its unexpected tonal shift suggests that it might have worked better as part of a longer work."
A short yarn about seafaring and the origin of doughnuts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEARNING TO LIVE OUT LOUD by Piper Laurie
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"Warmly intimate."
In a candid memoir, Emmy- and Golden Globe-winning actress Laurie remembers her long, surprising life as a film, theater and TV star. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 7, 2006

"Readers who admire Davis's work and that of the late Marc Reisner will find this fine entry in the library of apocalyptic Californiana of urgent interest."
Another compelling reason not to breathe in L.A. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABEL by Barry Maitland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2003

"Maitland has always been a notable spinner of mysteries, but his fifth case continues to extend his range, depth, and mastery into Ruth Rendell territory."
The shooting of a controversial prof in front of horrified witnesses reunites shaky DS Kathy Kolla, sidelined after the traumatic showdown of Silvermeadow (2002), with Chief Inspector David Brock. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COMPANY OF LIARS by Karen Maitland
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 7, 2008

"Decidedly not your English teacher's Chaucer, but creepy, suspenseful fun."
Nine pilgrims try to outrun the Black Death in first novelist Maitland's sensational take on The Canterbury Tales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 2011

"For those nostalgic about for the glory days of the British empire, this biography should have a certain appeal."
An eccentric explorer in the tradition of T.E. Lawrence, Wilfred Thesiger (1910-2003) lived with tribal warriors in Africa, traveled on camel through the Arabian desert and journeyed to the hitherto-unknown source of the Awash river in Ethiopia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 17, 2012

"A poignantly rendered, impeccably researched tale of a rupture healed by time."
Love lost in Alsace during World War II, rediscovered 50 years later in New Jersey. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPIDER TRAP by Barry Maitland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 4, 2007

"Though Maitland (No Trace, 2006, etc.) is never less than sensitive and professional, Brock and Kolla's delayed-action ninth case is their most routine."
A schoolboy's grisly discovery in South London takes DCI David Brock on a most unsentimental journey into a case he fumbled long ago. Read full book review >