Search Results: "Quentin Bates"


BOOK REVIEW

FROZEN ASSETS by Quentin Bates
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 18, 2011

"Though Bates is English-born, his blistering debut reads more like an American procedural than the British product, right down to a denouement as acridly unsatisfying as today's headlines."
Corporate and official malfeasance make police work just as hot in Iceland as anywhere else on earth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SNOWBLIND by Ragnar Jonasson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 31, 2017

"A bestseller in England making its U.S. debut, Jónasson's whodunit puts a lively, sophisticated spin on the Agatha Christie model, taking it down intriguing dark alleys."
In the isolated Icelandic fishing village of Siglufjörður, a rookie cop newly transplanted from Reykjavík has his mettle tested by the claustrophobic conditions—and a murder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLD COMFORT by Quentin Bates
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 10, 2012

"More routine than Gunna's debut (Frozen Assets, 2011), but still required reading for anyone who wants a sense of how calamitous Iceland's meltdown was—and what just might be in store for American police procedurals next."
Iceland's financial crisis claims new casualties in venues considerably more homely than banks and corporate offices. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL BY MYSELF by Ivan Bates
Released: Feb. 29, 2000

BOOK REVIEW

The Jolly Coroner by Quentin Canterel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 7, 2016

"A highly creative, if meandering, adventure."
Debut author Canterel offers a surreal novel about an unlikely coroner. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLOOMSBURY RECALLED by Quentin Bell
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 9, 1996

"Or worse, like sitting in someone's living room and being forced to go through their family photo albums. (18 b&w illustrations)"
Brief, disjointed autobiographical remembrances of Bloomsbury's great and not-so-great from one of its last surviving members. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVEYKINS by Quentin Blake
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2003

Engaging with eccentricity is rarely a smooth road, which is why a pairing of quirky and endearing often rings hollow. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SIMPKIN by Quentin Blake
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1994

"An entertaining portrait that's also an imaginative lesson in antonyms, presented with panache; once again, Blake's expressive, deftly scribbled drawings, enhanced with sparkling color, are a delight. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A rambunctious boy enacts a series of opposites succinctly set in verse (``Simpkin WARM and Simkin CHILLY/Simkin SENSIBLE and SILLY/And sometimes when we stand and call/Simpkin JUST NOT THERE AT ALL'') and elaborated to hilarity in Blake's happy-go- lucky art—e.g., above, Simpkin's waiting sister abruptly changes the temperature of the shower he's enjoying. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COCKATOOS by Quentin Blake
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"Blake's illustrations are, as ever, funny and filled with lively detail; but while this doubles as a counting book, it's as airy and weightless as a feather. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Weary of hearing the same greeting day after day—``Good morning, my fine feathered friends!''—Professor Dupont's ten cockatoos fly the coop. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL JOIN IN by Quentin Blake
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1991

"Blake's ear is as good as his eye: his nifty turns of phrase are as much fun as his daft, hyperactive characters. Subversive, but never mind—''Join In!'' (Picture book. 4-8)"
Seven delightful poems, together with wickedly deft, hilarious illustrations, celebrate noise-generating activities: tantrums, gleeful squeals, sorting pots and pans, yowling back yard cats—even a bit of house cleaning ends in pandemonium here. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG TRUCK AND LITTLE TRUCK by Jan Carr
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"The characters, situations, and art hark back to an antique picture-book tradition, but children of any generation will understand Little Truck's feelings. (Picture book. 5-7)"
A small pick-up truck suffers separation anxiety in this tale for fans of Little Toot, Katy, and other animated work machines. Read full book review >